HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   ISPConfig viewing probelms (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=534)

mphayesuk 12th September 2005 10:24

ISPConfig viewing probelms
 
I know that this has been brought up before and answered but I didn't understand the answer so I will ask the question again.

1. When looking at the ISPConfig page from my lan using the hostname it is really slow what do I need to change in the configuration files. Looking at it from the web side is fast.

2. Some of the images that are on the ISPConfig web pages dont appear, what do I need to change and in what files to make this work properly.

Thanks

till 12th September 2005 10:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by mphayesuk
I know that this has been brought up before and answered but I didn't understand the answer so I will ask the question again.

1. When looking at the ISPConfig page from my lan using the hostname it is really slow what do I need to change in the configuration files. Looking at it from the web side is fast.

2. Some of the images that are on the ISPConfig web pages dont appear, what do I need to change and in what files to make this work properly.

Thanks

Open the following file with an editor:

/home/admispconfig/ispconfig/lib/config.inc.php

in the line:

$go_info["server"]["server_url"] = "https://www.yourdomain.com:81";

replace the URL or IP with an URL / IP you can reach from your internal network.

mphayesuk 12th September 2005 10:41

Does this fix both my questions.

Thanks

till 12th September 2005 10:46

Yes, that fixes both problems.

mphayesuk 13th September 2005 23:37

Thanks just tried it and it seems it was set to the hostname address so I changed it to the IP address instead and that makes it a lot faster, thanks.

wr19026 12th January 2006 16:26

Ok, so this works perfectly for http://www.mydomainname.dom:81. But what if I want to host the regular website http://www.mydomainname.dom as well? http://www.mydomainname.dom errors out (from inside my LAN) and when I use the IP address I get the error page telling me that I'm looking at a shared IP address and that I should use the full webaddress instead.

Sounds like a Catch22 situation to me, but I assume that there is a clever workaround for this? Other than getting a dialup account somewhere to be able to see my own website ;)

till 12th January 2006 16:46

Have you forwarded port 80 on your router to your ispconfig server? Is mydomainname.dom pointing to your external IP address?

wr19026 12th January 2006 17:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by till
Have you forwarded port 80 on your router to your ispconfig server? Is mydomainname.dom pointing to your external IP address?

Yes to your first question. NAPT is by default forwarding everything to my server where the ISPConfig firewall takes care of business.

As to the second question I'm not sure if I understand correctly. When I check DNS www.mydomainname.dom is forwarded to my external IP which is the router. NAPT then takes care of business in forwarding to the internal IP.

In another thread I raised the issue of not being able to connect to https://www.mydomainname.dom:81 from LAN. As suggested I changed this in a file to my.internal.IP.x:81. Which works.

So I'm a little confused :)

falko 12th January 2006 21:45

Quote:

Originally Posted by wr19026
But what if I want to host the regular website http://www.mydomainname.dom as well? http://www.mydomainname.dom errors out (from inside my LAN) and when I use the IP address I get the error page telling me that I'm looking at a shared IP address and that I should use the full webaddress instead.

From inside your LAN this seems to be this loopback problem with your router.

Regarding accesses from the outside: have you set up www.domainname.dom and domainname.dom for that web site?

wr19026 12th January 2006 23:18

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
From inside your LAN this seems to be this loopback problem with your router.

Regarding accesses from the outside: have you set up www.domainname.dom and domainname.dom for that web site?

I have set up www.mydomain.dom in ISPConfig (and can find it using www.dnsreport.com) I have not set up domainname.dom using ISPConfig, but it passes a dnsreport.com check.

And from outside my LAN I can see the index page for http://www.mydomainname.dom.

I guess what I need to do is dive into the documentation for my router nd see what they have to say about loopback....


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:33.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.