HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Roundcube installation on Debian: why not roundcube-mysql package? + https question (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=53142)

ande 20th June 2011 13:41

Roundcube installation on Debian: why not roundcube-mysql package? + https question
 
Hi there,

I've read the tutorial concerning roundcube on Debian 6 / ISPConfig 3. It appears to me that there is even a roundcube-mysql package now available via apt-get install. Would it not be a good idea to use this way for installation for the package then ought to be maintained automagically?

In other words: Where do I have to adapt the installation?

In /etc/apache2/sites-available/ispconfig.vhost ? (only?)

More:

I managed to make ISPConfig adminpanel available via https on port 443 by tinkering with ../sites-available/ispconfig.vhost . It is now not anymore available via http, which is a good thing. However, phpMyAdmin still responds under port 80 and 443 (https). I'd like to only offer 443.

Same question for squirrelmail (or roundcube): How do I limit access only to port 443? Might like to have a redirect from the respective URLs on port 80 to port 443..

Hope I pressed out myself well.. (enough). :)

This might be a Apache2 FAQ, but I'm sorry I'm rather familiar with apache1 but not so much with 2. And I want not to break ISPConfigs adaptions and conventions..

till 20th June 2011 14:11

Quote:

In /etc/apache2/sites-available/ispconfig.vhost ? (only?)
Do not edit this file. It is for ispconfig only and may not be used for other software as all changes you made there will be removed automatically on updates. Create a new config file instaed.

Quote:

I managed to make ISPConfig adminpanel available via https on port 443 by tinkering with ../sites-available/ispconfig.vhost . It is now not anymore available via http, which is a good thing.
Do not edit that file manually as you changes will be removed on updates anyway. Run the ispconfig update.php script and choose yes when the updater asks you if ssl shall be enabled.

Quote:

However, phpMyAdmin still responds under port 80 and 443 (https). I'd like to only offer 443.
phpmyadmin is an alias in apache, so it is always rechable from http and https if the server is configured to listen on port 80.

ande 20th June 2011 14:26

Thanks for your quick response!

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 258607)
Do not edit this file. It is for ispconfig only and may not be used for other software as all changes you made there will be removed automatically on updates. Create a new config file instead.

I'm a bit confused: The 1.2 manual tells me to change that file..

.. and where might I put a new config file please? What should it contain? Sorry I dont understand the way apache2 handles this.. Wouldn't I create contradictory configs if I leave ispconfig's file alone?

What I want is to put everything (ISPConfig panel, Webmail (preferred: roundcube) and phpMyAdmin) inside the https- version of the default domain (visible if I use only the IP in the URL, that is)

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 258607)
Run the ispconfig update.php script and choose yes when the updater asks you if ssl shall be enabled.

I tried, but is says there is no update available so I get no chance to choose ssl, sorry.

till 20th June 2011 15:24

Quote:

.. and where might I put a new config file please? What should it contain? Sorry I dont understand the way apache2 handles this.. Wouldn't I create contradictory configs if I leave ispconfig's file alone?

Add a new file in the same directory. Apache reads all files that are in the sites-enabled directory in alphabetical order.

Quote:

What I want is to put everything (ISPConfig panel, Webmail (preferred: roundcube) and phpMyAdmin) inside the https- version of the default domain (visible if I use only the IP in the URL, that is)
The ispconfig panel has aleways its own vhost on a separate port, so it does not run on the default vhost. For a webmail application or phpmyadmin, you use the default vhost.


Quote:

I tried, but is says there is no update available so I get no chance to choose ssl, sorry.
Thats not possible, as the has a version check. I guess you mixed up the ispconfig_update.sh shell script with the update.php file in the ispconfig 3 tar.gz.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.