HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   ispconfig_update.sh > where did bind9 go ? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52761)

Djamu 20th May 2011 03:40

ispconfig_update.sh > where did bind9 go ? EDIT: FIXED
 
Edit: ignore / delete this post... have it fixed already

After updating php to v5.3 I noticed numerous errors when (trying) opening ispconfig.
I ran ispconfig_update.sh and kept the default answers assuming it should be ok..
noticed > Configuring MyDNS
and don't seem to have a a functioning DNS server.. ( had bind9 installed )

server is running over a year now (was debian lenny > partially upgraded to squeeze > didn't do a full upgrade yet as it's a production server.)

I don't have a personal preference bind9 / mydns as long as it's functional.

ispconfig was 3.0.1 ( or even lower ).... long time ago....

thanks in advance

till 20th May 2011 12:08

Seems as if Bind is not installed on your server in a way that ispconfig was able to detect it. How did you install BIND and which Linux Distribution do you use?

Djamu 20th May 2011 19:27

Thanks Till for your prompt reply.

As stated I've had it fixed already.
( it's a heavily customized Debian lenny setup, partially upgraded to squeeze )

I didn't have time yet to look at / find the ispconfig install logs to see what went wrong.. just re-installed bind and replaced all related stuff from my backup ... and it's now happily humming again ...
;)

Still have to solve some weird mail issues, as it seems that it rejects mails from www-data@http4.howtoforge.com on my primary domain.
Code:

do not list domain xxxxxxxxxxx in BOTH mydestination and
virtual_mailbox_domains

I found that the updatescript changed this in my postfix main.cfg, which is incorrect


Jan

till 21st May 2011 09:27

Seems as if the hostname of your server is invorrect then. Please set the hostname to a correct domain that is identical to the domain used in postfix main.cf. Please be aware that the hostname shall not be identical to a domain that is ued for email, so use something like server1.yourdomain.tld as hostname and not just ourdomain.tld


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:47.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.