HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   ispconfig3 debian squeeze index.html from apache2 (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=52495)

CD_PlaYeR 29th April 2011 17:17

ispconfig3 debian squeeze index.html from apache2
 
Hi!
've followed this tutorial http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-3-p6
when i type 192.168.1.100, i get the apache2 index.html instead of ispconfig 3 one,
i tried to look with dnssy.com at example.com and it cannot find ns.example.com
when i do dig ns1.example.com i get no answer. the server is accessible via my lan by another computer when i type 192.168.1.100 but not when i type www.example.com or example.com

falko 30th April 2011 13:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by CD_PlaYeR (Post 256203)
when i type 192.168.1.100, i get the apache2 index.html instead of ispconfig 3 one,

ISPConfig configures name-based vhosts which means you cannot use an IP address. You must always use a domain.


Quote:

Originally Posted by CD_PlaYeR (Post 256203)
i tried to look with dnssy.com at example.com and it cannot find ns.example.com
when i do dig ns1.example.com i get no answer. the server is accessible via my lan by another computer when i type 192.168.1.100 but not when i type www.example.com or example.com

Does example.com point to your router's public IP? Does your router forward port 80 to your ISPConfig server?

If the answer to both questions is yes, but it still doesn't work, chances are that your ISP blocks port 80 or that your router doesn't support loopbacks.

CD_PlaYeR 30th April 2011 16:04

sorry maybe my explanation wasn't pretty good.

my isp doesn't block port 80, that i am sure of, i already made a server running on this router and the port forwarding are set to forward port 80 to my server, the problem is that usually when you install ispconfig3 and you type 192.168.1.100 the index.html isn't suppose to be the one from apache but the welcome from ispconfig3, in my case it is the It works! from apache. when i try domain.com i get a page server not found. ispconfig doesn't seems to link to apache2.

erosbk 1st May 2011 01:27

As I am seeing right now on my installation, the default page of apache2 with ISPConfig3 is from Apache2, not from ISPConfig3.

Only vhost has the pages of ISPConfig3 as I can see

falko 1st May 2011 21:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by CD_PlaYeR (Post 256222)
sorry maybe my explanation wasn't pretty good.

my isp doesn't block port 80, that i am sure of, i already made a server running on this router and the port forwarding are set to forward port 80 to my server, the problem is that usually when you install ispconfig3 and you type 192.168.1.100 the index.html isn't suppose to be the one from apache but the welcome from ispconfig3, in my case it is the It works! from apache. when i try domain.com i get a page server not found. ispconfig doesn't seems to link to apache2.

You cannot use IP addresses because ISPConfig configure name-based vhosts. Either create/modify the DNS records for your domains so that they point to the correct server, or (for testing purposes) modify the hosts file of your client PC: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...s+file+windows

CD_PlaYeR 2nd May 2011 00:31

Thanks!! you are right about ispconfig3 and IP address, and also with port forwarding!!!
i feel kinda stupid but i should have doubt that the DMZ of my old linksys was to crash and forward anything anywhere........ what are the port range i should forward for now i use 0-1000


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.