HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   quota question on perfect install fedora core 5.0 (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5228)

bmayock 29th June 2006 04:45

quota question on perfect install fedora core 5.0
 
hello,

trying to get a fileserver up and running although when i do "yum install quota" it doesn't seem to install. do i need to install the quota package? if so where? i thought i installed the quota package by going to applications->add/remove software it even says that the i386 package is installed. any help would be appreciated thank you. note my errors below when i try to run quotacheck -avugm and quotaon -avug. i am in super user mode too.

Brian

[kyd@localhost ~]$ su
Password:
[root@localhost kyd]# yum install quota
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
core [1/3]
extras [2/3]
updates [3/3]
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Parsing package install arguments
Nothing to do
[root@localhost kyd]# touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
[root@localhost kyd]# chmod 600 /aquota.*
[root@localhost kyd]# mount -o remount /
[root@localhost kyd]# quotacheck -avugm
bash: quotacheck: command not found
[root@localhost kyd]# quotaon -avug
bash: quotaon: command not found
[root@localhost kyd]#

falko 29th June 2006 13:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by bmayock
[root@localhost kyd]# yum install quota
Loading "installonlyn" plugin
Setting up Install Process
Setting up repositories
core [1/3]
extras [2/3]
updates [3/3]
Reading repository metadata in from local files
Parsing package install arguments
Nothing to do

quota is already installed.
Quote:

Originally Posted by bmayock
[root@localhost kyd]# quotacheck -avugm
bash: quotacheck: command not found
[root@localhost kyd]# quotaon -avug
bash: quotaon: command not found
[root@localhost kyd]#

What's the output of
Code:

updatedb
locate quotacheck
locate quotaon

?
What's the output of
Code:

echo $PATH
?

bmayock 29th June 2006 22:25

umm
 
Hello Falko,

here is the output you requested. how do you uncompress the .gz file? is it just
tar -xvvzf quotacheck.8.gz? do i have to be in that directory?

[root@localhost kyd]# updatedb
[root@localhost kyd]# locate quotacheck
/sbin/quotacheck
/usr/share/man/man8/quotacheck.8.gz
[root@localhost kyd]# locate quotaon
/sbin/quotaon
/usr/share/man/man8/quotaon.8.gz
[root@localhost kyd]# echo $PATH
/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/home/kyd/bin
[root@localhost kyd]#

falko 29th June 2006 23:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by bmayock
how do you uncompress the .gz file? is it just
tar -xvvzf quotacheck.8.gz? do i have to be in that directory?

Don't uncompress it, it's just the man page.

quotacheck and quotaon exist on your system, they are in /sbin, but /sbin is not in your PATH.

What's in /etc/profiles?

bmayock 30th June 2006 02:32

Hello Falko,

thanks for the help. below is the output you requested of etc/profile
i also found a profile.d directory did you want the contents of that as well?

# /etc/profile

# System wide environment and startup programs, for login setup
# Functions and aliases go in /etc/bashrc

pathmunge () {
if ! echo $PATH | /bin/egrep -q "(^|:)$1($|:)" ; then
if [ "$2" = "after" ] ; then
PATH=$PATH:$1
else
PATH=$1:$PATH
fi
fi
}

# ksh workaround
if [ -z "$EUID" -a -x /usr/bin/id ]; then
EUID=`id -u`
UID=`id -ru`
fi

# Path manipulation
if [ "$EUID" = "0" ]; then
pathmunge /sbin
pathmunge /usr/sbin
pathmunge /usr/local/sbin
fi

# No core files by default
ulimit -S -c 0 > /dev/null 2>&1

if [ -x /usr/bin/id ]; then
USER="`id -un`"
LOGNAME=$USER
MAIL="/var/spool/mail/$USER"
fi

HOSTNAME=`/bin/hostname`
HISTSIZE=1000

if [ -z "$INPUTRC" -a ! -f "$HOME/.inputrc" ]; then
INPUTRC=/etc/inputrc
fi

export PATH USER LOGNAME MAIL HOSTNAME HISTSIZE INPUTRC

for i in /etc/profile.d/*.sh ; do
if [ -r "$i" ]; then
. $i
fi
done

unset i
unset pathmunge

falko 1st July 2006 12:19

Change
Code:

export PATH USER LOGNAME MAIL HOSTNAME HISTSIZE INPUTRC
to

Code:

PATH=${PATH}:/sbin
export PATH USER LOGNAME MAIL HOSTNAME HISTSIZE INPUTRC

in /etc/profile. The log out and log in again, and
Code:

which quotacheck
and
Code:

which quotaon
should show results.

bmayock 5th July 2006 23:19

no dice
 
hello Falko,

thanx for the help. still getting "command not found"

[root@localhost etc]# which quotacheck
/usr/bin/which: no quotacheck in
(/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/home/kyd/bin)
[root@localhost etc]# which quotaon
/usr/bin/which: no quotaon in (/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/bin:/usr/bin:/bin:/usr/X11R6/bin:/home/kyd/bin)
[root@localhost etc]# touch /aquota.user /aquota.group
[root@localhost etc]# chmod 600 /aquota.*
[root@localhost etc]# mount -o remount /
[root@localhost etc]# quotacheck -avugm
bash: quotacheck: command not found
[root@localhost etc]# quotaon -avug
bash: quotaon: command not found
[root@localhost etc]#

falko 6th July 2006 13:20

Then run
Code:

/sbin/quotacheck -avugm
/sbin/quotaon -avug

:)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:06.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.