HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Have to reboot server, seems to stop responding (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51996)

Nolan 23rd March 2011 18:00

Have to reboot server, seems to stop responding
 
Hi, Every once in a while, it seems like my server is either not responding, or very slow to respond, and I have to reboot, and that seems to temporarily fix it. It's a VPS, and I'm not really even close to using up all of my RAM (Usually around 200 MB free, of 512 MB), and I only use 10% on average of the CPU.

Any ideas what could be causing this? It's quite annoying, because I've got everything hosted on this server: DNS, Email, webserver, shoutcast, shoutcast transcoder, etc.

I followed this guide of setting up software of my services: http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ot-ispconfig-3

The data center insists that it's something that I've configured wrong or something, and I told them about the RAM and CPU and they checked, but they couldn't find a problem on the server.

Specs:
Debian Lenny
512 MB RAM
10 mbps unmetered bandwidth


Any help regarding this issue would be greatly appreciated, as it it affects the entire operation of my site and related services.

Thanks! :)

-Nolan

astinsan 23rd March 2011 19:10

more information is needed. Logs logs logs... When you say slow to respond what service is slow. Http, ssh... etc. What processes are running.

:)

Nolan 23rd March 2011 19:22

Thanks for the reply,

SSH and Http are slow at times. sometimes the DNS doesn't work and that's when I have to reboot the server.
Let me go hunting for logs.

Nolan 23rd March 2011 19:42

Just a little problem, the syslog is too long to post :/

astinsan 23rd March 2011 20:06

well when you look through them do you see anything that may be a problem...

Compress the logs and attach them... Also can you post the networking config. ie: ifconfig -a
So we can see if it is a networking setup issue

Nolan 24th March 2011 02:29

Here's that:

Code:

ct18376:~# ifconfig -a
lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:93537 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:93537 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:86898191 (82.8 MiB)  TX bytes:86898191 (82.8 MiB)

venet0    Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
-00
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  P-t-P:127.0.0.1  Bcast:0.0.0.0  Mask:255.255.255.
255
          UP BROADCAST POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:760589 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:939027 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:835913269 (797.1 MiB)  TX bytes:870948269 (830.6 MiB)

venet0:0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
-00
          inet addr:208.53.183.76  P-t-P:208.53.183.76  Bcast:0.0.0.0  Mask:255.
255.255.255
          UP BROADCAST POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP  MTU:1500  Metric:1


astinsan 24th March 2011 09:09

is it normal to have 2 interfaces with the same IP address... That would cause a problem. Your localhost 127.0.0.1 and the virtual host is the same.

Nolan 27th March 2011 01:00

Okay, how do I fix that? Also I'm not sure where the Log files for Bind9, Postfix and Dovecot are.

astinsan 27th March 2011 19:13

not sure if it is a problem to have the same address for both devices since it is for the vz. I was hoping that someone is familiar with virtual servers like vz would say something. As far as logs.. these are almost always in the /var/log directory. Network settings are going to be in the /etc/network dir.

Still need your logs to give a real diagnosis.

Nolan 28th March 2011 18:11

Oh, Okay, but what are they named? I dont see anything resembling a bind9 log.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:50.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.