HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   default vhost (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51989)

8omas 22nd March 2011 22:08

default vhost
 
I read a lot of post in here about setting the default vhost file of apache but I cannot conclude to anything specific.
So I did this:
I renamed the default file to default.old (in case I need it later) in /etc/apache2/sites-available and I made a symlink of one of my vhost (eg xyz.com.vhost) to default. (ln -s xyz.com.vhost default)

Now I have the default vhost that I want (and not the first available when someone try to access by ip or by unknown subdomain), but I don't know if the above action interfere somehow with ISPConfig.

Does the ISPConfig uses the default vhost (the default file) for some particular reason?

till 23rd March 2011 09:41

Quote:

Does the ISPConfig uses the default vhost (the default file) for some particular reason?
It is used for webmail and phpmyadmin. Changing the default vhost might disable webmail and phpmyadmin and all other webbased software that you might have installed with the package manager of your linux distribution.

8omas 23rd March 2011 10:04

Ok. So which is the best way to define the default vhost?
For the record, with the above change, I have no problem with webmail and phpmyadmin. I did the change after I have installed them

8omas 24th March 2011 10:44

I followed your advice and left default untouched.

The trick I did is to make a symbolic link to my desired host:
Code:

ln -s /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/001-mydesired.vhost /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/mydesired.vhost
This vhost comes first and after the 000-default and 000-ispconfig


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:45.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.