HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Problem migrating to new server... (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51958)

jkrell 20th March 2011 22:08

Problem migrating to new server...
 
Hi guys. I have a small (but hopefully solvable) problem...

I had ISPConfig2 up and running on an Ubuntu machine that I set up using your howto guide. Due to several reasons, I am switching machines.

I set up a new server using your Fedora 14 Perfect Server setup. I installed ISPConfig2 on top following the instructions. ISPConfig seemed to be working fine.

Today, I migrated my data from the old server to the new by going through the following procedures.

On the old (Ubuntu) server:

Code:

cd /var
tar -pczf www-2011-3-20.tar.gz www/
mysqldump -u root -psecret --all-databases > backup.sql

Then I moved the backup files over to the new server and:

Code:

cd /var
mv -r www/ www1/
tar xvfz www-2011-3-20.tar.gz www/
mysql -u root -psecret < backup.sql
rm www1/

I then switched the router forwarding from the old server to the new, and went inside ISPConfig to update everything to point to the new server (my old server was 192.168.1.102 and my new is 192.168.1.15). I changed the IP address settings for the server, the sites themselves and also updated the DNS entries using the DNS Manager tab.

I thought that'd be that, but at a most basic level I am having a problem. When I go to Server Status under the Management tab, it shows Web Server and BIND Server as offline. Even if I go to Services, set everything to ON and click SAVE, those two remain off. I don't know what BIND is or if I need it, but I certainly need the web server to be running, don't I?

How to fix? Happy to troubleshoot. I'm thinking maybe a complete ISPConfig uninstall, reinstall and then try starting over? What do you think?

falko 21st March 2011 15:29

What's the output of
Code:

netstat -tap
?

Did you disable SELinux?

jkrell 21st March 2011 23:18

I disabled SELinux. Here's the output of netstat -tap

Quote:

Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 *:imaps *:* LISTEN 1529/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:pop3s *:* LISTEN 1529/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:53096 *:* LISTEN 1206/rpc.statd
tcp 0 0 *:mysql *:* LISTEN 1503/mysqld
tcp 0 0 *:pop3 *:* LISTEN 1529/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:imap *:* LISTEN 1529/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:sunrpc *:* LISTEN 1186/rpcbind
tcp 0 0 *:81 *:* LISTEN 1727/ispconfig_http
tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 1364/sshd
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 6401/master
tcp 0 0 krell.server.com:ssh 192.168.1.151:63472 ESTABLISHED 26468/0
tcp 0 0 *:imaps *:* LISTEN 1529/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:pop3s *:* LISTEN 1529/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:pop3 *:* LISTEN 1529/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:imap *:* LISTEN 1529/dovecot
tcp 0 0 *:sunrpc *:* LISTEN 1186/rpcbind
tcp 0 0 *:ftp *:* LISTEN 6057/proftpd: (acce
tcp 0 0 *:ssh *:* LISTEN 1364/sshd
tcp 0 0 *:smtp *:* LISTEN 6401/master
tcp 0 0 *:57177 *:* LISTEN 1206/rpc.statd

till 22nd March 2011 08:26

It seems as if you migrated only the databases and websites but not the system users, config files etc. Also you should not overwrite the mysql.mysql database and migrate the mysql users and database records instead. Please see here for detailed instructions on how to migrate ispconfig 2 to a new server:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2717

jkrell 22nd March 2011 13:18

I knew that seemed too easy! It is strange that I did not find that how-to upon searching. Thanks for pointing it out!

I will try again, this time following that guide. I am wondering, would the same guide work for migrating from ISPConfig 2 on Server A to ISPConfig 3 on Server B? I would like to have the benefits of ISPConfig 3 if I can.

jkrell 22nd March 2011 13:25

I really owe you guys a lot; I just subscribed. :)

till 22nd March 2011 13:52

Quote:

I will try again, this time following that guide. I am wondering, would the same guide work for migrating from ISPConfig 2 on Server A to ISPConfig 3 on Server B?
No, this wont work. ISPConfig 3 is a completely different software. There is no direct or automatic migration from ispconfig 2 to 3 possible.

If you want to migrate to ispconfig 3, you would have to recreate all wbsites, users and mailboxes in ispconfig 3 and then copy fjust the contents of the websites and the maildir contents to the new server.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:25.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.