HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Quota / fstab modification (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51711)

eko_taas 2nd March 2011 08:39

Quota / fstab modification
 
Following:
http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-3-p4
and there item "13 Install PureFTPd And Quota" where
Quote:

Edit /etc/fstab. Mine looks like this (I added usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group,jqfmt =vfsv0 to the partition with the mount point /)
I'll have / separated from /home, /var etc. In that case which one should be modified in that case? or all of them?

till 2nd March 2011 08:42

Please modify / and /var

lolo6tm 6th April 2011 12:32

1and1 VPS
 
Hi,

First thanks a lot for theses greats tutorials.

got a problem setting quotas. I own a VPS at 1and1. My fstab looks like this:

/dev/xvda1 / ext3 defaults 1 1
/dev/xvda2 none swap sw
/dev/vg00/usr /usr xfs defaults 0 2
/dev/vg00/var /var xfs defaults,usrquota 0 2
/dev/vg00/home /home xfs defaults,usrquota 0 2
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
none /tmp tmpfs defaults 0 0

Adding ",usrjquota=aquota.user,grpjquota=aquota.group,jqf mt=vfsv0" to the /var line gives me the following error when trying to remount :

> mount -o remount /var
> mount: /var not mounted already, or bad option

Any idea plz ?

eko_taas 7th April 2011 07:46

get same problem if restart?

falko 7th April 2011 15:12

What virtualization technique is being used? And which distribution?

lolo6tm 29th November 2011 16:15

1and1 VPS
 
A Debian Squeeze virtualized with Xen i think, how can i be sure about the virtualization engine ?

uname -a gives me :
Linux myhostname 2.6.26-2-xen-amd64 #1 SMP Tue Jan 25 06:13:50 UTC 2011 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Mwoua 16th March 2012 19:27

hi,

I know it's a bit old here, but i have the same problem

> mount -o remount /var
> mount: /var not mounted already, or bad option

My fstab (without the added option)

# <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/root / ubifs defaults,noatime,rw 0 0
tmpfs /var/run tmpfs size=1M,rw,nosuid,mode=0755 0 $
tmpfs /var/lock tmpfs size=1M,rw,noexec,nosuid,nodev,mode=177$
tmpfs /tmp tmpfs defaults,nosuid,nodev 0 0
/dev/mmcblk0p1 /var ext2 defaults 0 0
/dev/mmcblk0p2 /usr ext2 defaults 0 0


I own a small server with debian squeeze.
Everytime i add usrjquota=aquota.user it starts bugging

falko 17th March 2012 11:37

What's your virtualization technology? OpenVZ, Xen, KVM, ...?

Mwoua 17th March 2012 13:48

There's no virtualization

falko 18th March 2012 21:18

Please set up quota as shown in chapter 10 on http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-2-p3


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.