HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Postfix mail server. Please help (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51457)

Scott.Paananen 15th February 2011 20:58

Postfix mail server. Please help

Hi everyone,
I am new to postfix, and i am having an issue.
We are not able to get mail from a certain company, our post fix logs show the following.

Note: i've removed personal information from the logs

Feb 14 15:10:54 SERVER02 postfix/smtpd[20199]: connect from mail.example.net[xx.xx.xxx.xxx]
Feb 14 15:11:10 SERVER02 postfix/policy-spf[20201]: handler sender_policy_framework: is decisive.
Feb 14 15:11:10 SERVER02 postfix/policy-spf[20201]: : Policy action=DEFER_IF_PERMIT SPF-Result=mail-server.eaxmple.net: 'SERVFAIL' error on DNS 'SPF' lookup of 'mail-server.eaxmple.net'
Feb 14 15:11:10 SERVER02 postfix/smtpd[20199]: warning: restriction `smtpd_data_restrictions' after `permit' is ignored
Feb 14 15:11:10 SERVER02 postfix/smtpd[20199]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from mail.eaxmple.net[xx.xx.xxx.xxx]: 450 4.7.1 <me@us.com>: Recipient address rejected: SPF-Result=mail-server.eaxmple.net: 'SERVFAIL' error on DNS 'SPF' lookup of 'mail-server.eaxmple.net'; from=<them@example.net> to=<me@us.com> proto=ESMTP helo=<mail-server.eaxmple.net>
Feb 14 15:11:11 SERVER02 postfix/smtpd[20199]: disconnect from mail.example.net[xx.xx.xxx.xxx]

Now, their front end mail server is mail.example.net and their new back end server is mail-server.eaxmple.com

The first thing i noticed was the misspelling of their domain name in the mail-server (mail-server.eaxmple.com) So i told the it, was thier issue, and not ours. The problem is this.

eaxmple.net is in the domain example.net, The mistake was made a while ago, and never fixed.