HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   How to open bind in iptables? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51416)

freesqrt 13th February 2011 15:26

How to open bind in iptables?
 
Hey,

Recently I have a problem with my bind 8. when the iptables in flashed, the clients can resolve addresses with no problem but when iptables is up, I get "request time out"!!!
I wonder why in the second state, client get "server: unknown" message!!

How can I open the correspondent ports to serve DNS clients?

Regards,

falko 14th February 2011 14:07

You must open port 53 (TCP and UDP!).

freesqrt 14th February 2011 21:28

Thank you Falko,

I open these and now bind resolves its own zones addresses pretty well.
But as before I have a lot of logs like this in /var/log/message:

too many timeouts resolving 'sinfo.net/MX' (in 'sinfo.net'?): disabling EDNS
too many timeouts resolving 'mx4.nmci.usmc.mil/AAAA' (in 'usmc.mil'?): disabling EDNS

what you think about the problem?

Also other domains like google.com can't be resolved and "query refused" returned!!!

Regards,

alleks 15th February 2011 10:45

First of all, could you try to update to bind9? I'm just saying, you're using a old and insecure version of bind, try to update.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:20.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.