HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   How-to create physical connection for a Multiserver Setup for ISPConfig 3 (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=51293)

vaio1 7th February 2011 10:54

How-to create physical connection for a Multiserver Setup for ISPConfig 3
 
1 Attachment(s)
Hi guys,

I have read this article: A Multiserver Setup With Dedicated Web, Email, DNS And MySQL Database Servers On Debian 5.0 With ISPConfig 3 but I have not seen any physical network connection analysis. I have a technical questions:

1. Which is the best way to connect a basic network solution to the web?
2. How the physical network is connected between themselves?
3. Which are the main IPtables rules?

Attachment:
network: I have created a little pdf diagram.

Regards

till 8th February 2011 11:43

There is no special network topology needed. Use e.g. a 1GBit switch and connect all your servers to that switch. Then either connect the switch to the internet or put a router between the switch and the internet depending on your internet connection.

vaio1 8th February 2011 11:49

Hi Till,

but in this way all the servers are reachable directly by the web. Is a good idea create a direct connection between each server and the web?

If I connect the switch directly with the public ip cable to the uplink port, are all the servers reachable by the same Ip from the web?

ISPConfig 3 handles the IpTables rules in this case?

thanks

till 8th February 2011 11:52

The servers in a hosting setup provide services that shall be accessed from the internet, so they have to be connected to the internet.

Quote:

If I connect the switch directly with the public ip cable to the uplink port, are all the servers reachable by the same Ip from the web?
You need one public IP address per server. If you have only one IP address, then you have to install a router between the internet and your servers.

vaio1 8th February 2011 11:57

I could have 4 IP addresses, one for each server.
So I have to set the Public IP during the configuration of the Debian/ISPConfig 3?

Does ISPConfig 3 handle them. If yes, how?

thanks

Toucan 8th February 2011 18:51

No, ispconfig does not handle ip routing as you describe.

Like till said;

You will have to have four public ip addreses

Each server will have it's own private ip address

You should have a router that will handle the forwarding of each public ip to each private ip.

On installation of the os etc onto each machine you should refer to it by it's own private ip. But when you want to make connections to it, via the public ip. (don't quote me on that last line!)

vaio1 8th February 2011 19:20

Hi Toucan,

ok the servers are all connected to the switch and the switch is connected to the public cable.

All the servers have their own private ip, for instance: 192.168.1.100/150

And now the question comes:

Have I set the switch in order to match the public-private IP as router?

thanks

Toucan 9th February 2011 10:58

Every router is different, and I've never done it for more than 1 public address. So, Id start with just one server. Different services run on different ports so you can either forward all traffic to your server or just specific services.

If you want all traffic to your server you can often make a rule in the firewall menu on the router to forward all traffic, also referred to as dmz.

Or you can choose to forward specific traffic, eg, forward all traffic on port 80 (for web pages) to your internal ip.

Whilst you're exploring your router's settings you may find a setting to forward different public ip to internal ip.

vaio1 9th February 2011 11:25

Good morning,

I have a Dell Powerconnect 2808. I'm looking for a way to handle the problem posted before because I don't find any particular document that explain the Switch Software.

In the official manual there are no other information than the installation wizard.

Anyway I would like to suggest to the ISPConfig staff to focus this kind of problem in order to complete the good service that they offer to all the community.

Regards :)

till 9th February 2011 11:36

Quote:

Anyway I would like to suggest to the ISPConfig staff to focus this kind of problem in order to complete the good service that they offer to all the community.
Your problem is not ispconfig specific and nothing that could or has to be handled by ispconfig.

As Toucan pointed out, every router is different. So you have to take a look in the manual that comes with your router for detailed informtaion on how to install the router that you use in your network.

As you use a Dell router, go to the dell website, I'am sure they offer the manual for your router in their download section.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:53.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.