HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   ISPConfig running on default web server (port 80) (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5099)

geek.de.nz 22nd June 2006 15:13

ISPConfig running on default web server (port 80)
 
I would like to run ISPConfig on the default web server port together with the normal web server (Apache). Is that possible? Does it mean a security threat because ISPConfig adds users etc, so any web app could add users etc?

Shouldn't there be a way to let apache run as a different user in case of ISPConfig with a Virtual Host directive or something?

I want to save resources by running just one web-server because my system runs on a vserver with limited memory and I've got quite a few other servers running, which I don't want to turn off. ISPConfig is not used at the moment, because I've got no commercial clients.

falko 23rd June 2006 00:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by geek.de.nz
I would like to run ISPConfig on the default web server port together with the normal web server (Apache). Is that possible?

Only if you have two IP addresses. Then you can use one IP address for your main Apache and the other one for ISPConfig.

Quote:

Originally Posted by geek.de.nz
Shouldn't there be a way to let apache run as a different user in case of ISPConfig with a Virtual Host directive or something?

I want to save resources by running just one web-server because my system runs on a vserver with limited memory and I've got quite a few other servers running, which I don't want to turn off. ISPConfig is not used at the moment, because I've got no commercial clients.

I've never tried this, and I don't recommend it. The purpose of having two separate Apaches is that if your main Apache goes down, you can still access ISPConfig and try to fix things.

vinodadhikary 30th March 2008 22:37

I have two IPs. I also posted a new thread but no replies so far. Falko, you seem to be the guru of ispconfig. Can you help me with this. I have two public ips and I want to run ispconfig in one and apache in other.

Thank you

till 31st March 2008 10:32

Create vhost that listens on one IP address in your apache2.conf or httpd.conf file and then use mod_proxy to access the ISPConfig interface:

http://www.howtoforge.com/apache_rev...roxy_ispconfig


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:00.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.