HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Ubunt 6.06, Quota, Segmentation Fault (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5097)

eldaria 22nd June 2006 13:12

Ubunt 6.06, Quota, Segmentation Fault
 
Hi Everyone...
When doing the tutorial I get to the part of turning on Quota.
I get a Message saying "Segmentation Fault

#########################3
root@lnx1:/home/blevinse# quotacheck -avugm
quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //quota.user was probably truncated. Can't save quota settings...
quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile //quota.group was probably truncated. Can't save quota settings...
quotacheck: Scanning /dev/md1 [/] done
quotacheck: Checked 2111 directories and 20737 files
quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile /home/quota.user was probably truncated. Can't save quota settings...
quotacheck: WARNING - Quotafile /home/quota.group was probably truncated. Can't save quota settings...
quotacheck: Scanning /dev/md0 [/home] done
quotacheck: Checked 14565 directories and 78655 files
root@lnx1:/home/blevinse# quotaon -avug
/dev/md1 [/]: group quotas turned on
Segmentation fault
###################################

Any idea what goes wrong?

till 22nd June 2006 13:17

Segmentation faults are often caused by your hardware, e.g. an instable mainboard or RAM chip.

eldaria 22nd June 2006 13:51

Hmm, interesting, because I did the Debian Howto, with same hardware, only difference is the Partitioning.

And after any further command the system hangs.
Not possible to log into any other tty, only Hard Reboot works.

Is there a way of tracing down more specific what caused it?
I'm using Reiserfs instead of Ext3 could it cause it?

Or even better, Is it possible to do this setup without Quota? I don't really need it for my setup.

Huff, lot of Questions. :-)

falko 23rd June 2006 00:09

Quote:

Originally Posted by eldaria
I'm using Reiserfs instead of Ext3 could it cause it?

ReiserFS can cause problems for quota. Better use ext3.

Quote:

Originally Posted by eldaria
Or even better, Is it possible to do this setup without Quota?

Yes, but of course, you cannot set web space limits for users and groups in ISPConfig then. But ISPConfig will work anyway. :)


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:48.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.