HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips/Tricks/Mods (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Test Web Site without Domain (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50878)

jcvelasquez 10th January 2011 20:07

Test Web Site without Domain
 
Test Web Site without Domain

Hello Forum

I have ISPConfig-3.0.3.2 running without any problems but I have a user who wants to test your site before moving the domain and I have the following problem:

1. I can not find how to do a test site before passing the domain (in cpanel works http : // <direccion-ip> / ~ <username>) ISPConfig but I can not do.

Buy ISPCONFIG3 Manual (It's great, congratulations) but can not find how to make this clear solution.

The server is only connected to the Internet and not on a LAN or Intranet. I have not installed graphical environment for testing with localhost.

Thank you very much to all and please excuse my English, I'm from Colombia.

Happy 2011

akamarinos 10th January 2011 21:54

http://www.faqforge.com/linux/contro...-a-dns-record/

BorderAmigos 15th January 2011 19:50

The hosts file solution above won't work on a remote server connected only to internet.

You could make a subdomain of an existing domain that redirects to the site on your server.

[XAP]Bob 17th January 2011 13:21

Just put that above line in the clients hosts file, then they'll ask your webserver even without the DNS being in place.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:36.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.