HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   ClamAV and out of memory (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50371)

jaripetteri 5th December 2010 19:25

ClamAV and out of memory
 
I have VPS with 384MB of RAM and running Debian Lenny on it. I followed perfect server howto for ISPConfig 3.0.3 and ended up on following error. Everything else looks like working just fine but I can't sent or receive any email. I did find this error on ClamAV start:

Code:

mail:/home/jari# /etc/init.d/clamav-daemon restart
Stopping ClamAV daemon: clamd.
Starting ClamAV daemon: clamd LibClamAV Warning: ***********************************************************
LibClamAV Warning: ***  This version of the ClamAV engine is outdated.    ***
LibClamAV Warning: *** DON'T PANIC! Read http://www.clamav.net/support/faq ***
LibClamAV Warning: ***********************************************************
LibClamAV Error: mpool_malloc(): Can't allocate memory (262144 bytes).
LibClamAV Error: cli_ac_addpatt: Can't allocate memory for next->trans
LibClamAV Error: cli_parse_add(): Problem adding signature (1).
LibClamAV Error: Problem parsing database at line 58173
LibClamAV Error: Can't load main.ndb: Malformed database
LibClamAV Error: cli_tgzload: Can't load main.ndb
LibClamAV Error: Can't load /var/lib/clamav/main.cld: Malformed database
ERROR: Malformed database
 failed!

Do I need to get more RAM on my VPS or is there something else I can do?

till 5th December 2010 20:33

You need either more ram or you disable the complete spam and antivirus scan part of the setup:

http://www.faqforge.com/linux/contro...n-ispconfig-3/

jaripetteri 5th December 2010 20:45

Thanks for the link. So my VPS provider has next RAM option 512MB so what you think should that be enough to run also clamav? This server will have less that ten email accounts and only few domains and websites with quite low traffic. Maybe about 10-20GB/year.

falko 6th December 2010 13:13

It could work for ten email accounts, but you have to try.

jaripetteri 7th December 2010 19:28

I upgraded to 512MB and so far everything is up and running. Thanks again.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:11.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.