HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   phpMyAdmin and pure-ftpd operation question (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50224)

RKB 26th November 2010 07:51

phpMyAdmin and pure-ftpd operation question
 
Hi,
I have phpMyAdmin and pure-ftpd installed on the server. I manage the server from a Win 7 desktop on the network. I am using SuSe 11.3 ans ISPConfig3

Firstly, once the domain name is resolved should http://mydomain.com.au/phpmyadmin run phpmyadmin ?

Dito for pure-ftpd

Or will I have to run them from the server.

Is there a way to add 'Run' links from inside ISPConfig3

falko 27th November 2010 11:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKB (Post 245176)
Firstly, once the domain name is resolved should http://mydomain.com.au/phpmyadmin run phpmyadmin ?

If you've installed phpMyAdmin in that web site, then yes.

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKB (Post 245176)
Dito for pure-ftpd

Or will I have to run them from the server.

For FTP you need an FTP client such as FileZilla on your client computer.

RKB 27th November 2010 12:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko (Post 245250)
If you've installed phpMyAdmin in that web site, then yes.

So I have this absolutely clear, will I have to install phpMyAdmin onto every website on the server. ?

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko (Post 245250)
For FTP you need an FTP client such as FileZilla on your client computer.

Thanks for this info, I am already running an ftp client, I thought I was missing something with this pure-ftpd.

falko 28th November 2010 19:12

Quote:

Originally Posted by RKB (Post 245260)
So I have this absolutely clear, will I have to install phpMyAdmin onto every website on the server. ?

Normally it is enough to install it only once (e.g. in your own web site) and give your customers the URL.

RKB 28th November 2010 21:52

[Resolved]
 
Thanks for info, I spent the day yesterday reading the ISPConfig3 Manual again and many forums and implementing the suggestions, none worked. l then decided instead of installing phpmyadmin in the 'root' dir area, to create a phpmyadmin directory on the servers host website, into which I installed phpmyadmin and it works fine. Thanks for your Help.

I believe I now only have two outstanding issues to resolve now, I will post assistance requests elsewhere other than this post.

They are receiving eMail and working out why the index.html and .htaccess can not be over written in the new a Website that ISPConfig3 creates when a new site is generated.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.