HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Kernel Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   Kernel Panic mm/swap_state.c:316:spinlock(mm/swap_state.. (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=50183)

j.smith1981 23rd November 2010 15:21

Kernel Panic mm/swap_state.c:316:spinlock(mm/swap_state..
 
I was wondering if anyones good with kernel errors on here?

I have the following coming up as a message when my system crashed (I am running centos 4.8, dont have the system requirements for centos 5).

I dont think (infact I am pretty sure) its not the health of the PC I am running on, as its temperatures fine, doesnt get above 35c at all, when I last went into the health diagnosis nothing came up problematic with the hardware etc.

So it must be something to do with the memory mangement possibly?

Here's the quote of the error I got:
Quote:

kernel panic Not syncing

mm/swap_state.c:316:spin lock(mm/swap_state.c:038a8b0) already locked by mm/page_writeback.c/675
Any ideas?

falko 24th November 2010 15:58

That looks as if your hardware is not supported...

j.smith1981 24th November 2010 19:13

Sorry just out of a logic question when it says:

Quote:

already locked by mm/page_writeback.c/675
Doesnt that mean it has written that already?

Sounds to me (not a kernel knowledged guy but..) when it says that hasnt it got have written to that to have said already locked?

So to me that doesnt sound like a hardware issue as it works perfectly at other times.

j.smith1981 3rd December 2010 15:21

Scratch that, its just locked up again, grrr!!:mad:

But I am going to try and see if I can perhaps clean the insides out using a can of compressed air, just some physical maintenance on it as such.

Maybe even see if there's anyway of maybe using a 2 hard drive system on it, perhaps its the new hd thats causing the problem but I dont see how.

I just think perhaps its maybe not up to part for centos 4.8, really worrying, do you know any Linux distro's that I would be able to use as a web, dns and email server for now?

That I can use with your tutorials that would work with the basic following spec:

1Ghz CPU from Pentium its a Celeron processor
256mb of ram (I know its not much but it was a freebie from some charity work I did for some kids, who got computers free of charge and I got one back for them saying thank you to me).

Any help is greatly appreciated,
Jeremy

PS If all else fails, I am going to have to get a refurbed computer (what I was hoping I wouldnt have to do), any good advice from anyone whos brought one from the UK? I want to try and see if I can go for virtualization but what kind of computer would I need for that?

Just maybe so I can seperate the DNS and web service on the 1st virtual and use the email on a seperate one to the main one, also I would like to use DHCP with the DNS (as I dont like the settings in my router, and my newer one kept crashing all the time, typical virgin media eh?).

As I said any helps much appreciated,
Jeremy.

j.smith1981 6th December 2010 10:11

Ahh my server seems to be working fine from now on.

What it is, is like I said its fine the hardware, not sure why most people are so concerned with it being the hardware as that works perfectly fine.

But its the size of the swap partition, just repartitioned Linux to use a 1GB swap file, so it can have enough space to save to a like the paging file in Windows, but Linux uses a RAM drive in the hard drive as system primary memory.

It was obviously going by the error trying to write to an already locked file, so thats why creating a bigger swap file makes sense, sorry swap partition as its technically appreciated by the old windows systems of a RAM drive (the ones you can load windows into whilst you reinstall it), can actually still do that in XP, as I used to do that in lab sessions at University and at college.

Just thought I'd give a heads up to anyone else having trouble with this dilemma, its actually quite common for real servers, whether it be a tiered server or a base system (like a normal tower processor as such), to have a 1 maybe 2 GB swap file and not the Centos or whatever system default.

Thanks for your time and hope this helps anyone else out having trouble with locked files in their swap system.

Jez.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:18.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.