HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Howto configure for secondary nameserver? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=5004)

kanour 19th June 2006 11:21

Howto configure for secondary nameserver?
 
Hi. I would need to create configuration for secondary nameserver.
I would like to use xname.org to host my secondary nameserver.
I also would like to implement some security to it.

Would anyone give me a hint with this? I know how to change everything manualy, but ispconfig will change everthing back.

till 19th June 2006 11:56

Dont change anything manually. Just set the secondary DNS-Server to xname.org in the ISPConfig primary DNS record of your domain.

kanour 19th June 2006 16:45

I dont know if we uderstand each other?

With ISPConfig setup I have now primary DNS server which host all DNS records for all hosts. I have to create slave DNS server as a backup. Without that I am not able to to point nameservers to ISPConfig server because one nameserver is not enough.

Normally you have to add to the zone "allow-transfer { ip_address of slave DNS; };" To be able to transfer DNS records to slave DNS server.

Plus the addition of NS in zone file as you mentioned.

That is what I am looking for. Please advice. Thank you

falko 20th June 2006 14:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by kanour
Normally you have to add to the zone "allow-transfer { ip_address of slave DNS; };" To be able to transfer DNS records to slave DNS server.

You don't have to change anything in named.conf. Zone transfers are allowed by default in the current setup.

VMartins 30th October 2006 22:16

I have one IP. I use a service like No-IP to make my Secondary DNS Server. But now I have a friend with one IP too, and the same solution (No-IP).

I have to only put the allow-tranfer {ip} and nothing more? And the zones in the named.conf? And pri.xxx files?

Thanks all,

Vinicius

falko 31st October 2006 18:19

All you have to do is configure the slave as shown here: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy_p3 (if the slave has ISPConfig installed).


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.