HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Just installed Debian.. I'm not happy (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4975)

edge 17th June 2006 19:07

Just installed Debian.. I'm not happy
 
Okay..

After spending about 3 hrs in the datacenter, (I've also installed 2 new HDD's), and doing a lot of tweaking from home (SSH) I just discovered that the OS is not seening both CPU's :-(

Code:

host:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor      : 0
vendor_id      : GenuineIntel
cpu family      : 15
model          : 4
model name      : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping        : 3
cpu MHz        : 2800.240
cache size      : 16 KB
fdiv_bug        : no
hlt_bug        : no
f00f_bug        : no
coma_bug        : no
fpu            : yes
fpu_exception  : yes
cpuid level    : 5
wp              : yes
flags          : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips        : 5583.66

With the old OS on it (Fedora RC4) it was like this:

Code:

cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.512
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
bogomips : 5554.17

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.512
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 0
siblings : 2
core id : 0
cpu cores : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
bogomips : 5603.32

processor : 2
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.512
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 3
siblings : 2
core id : 3
cpu cores : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
bogomips : 5586.94

processor : 3
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.512
cache size : 2048 KB
physical id : 3
siblings : 2
core id : 3
cpu cores : 1
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe nx lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid xtpr
bogomips : 5586.94

Is it hard to get the Debian install to see both CPU's, adn can I do this through a SSH connection?

uname -a is giving me
Linux host.removed4.now 2.4.27-2-386 #1 Wed Aug 17 09:33:35 UTC 2005 i686 GNU/Linux

Hans 17th June 2006 20:25

kernel update for Dual Xeon with HT
 
I think you have to do this:

Give this command to find the available SMP (multiprocessor kernels):

apt-cache search kernel-image | grep smp

Choose this linux kernel for use with dual xeon:

kernel-image-2.6.8-12-em64t-p4-smp

Linux kernel install with this command:

apt-get install kernel-image-2.6.8-12-em64t-p4-smp

This commands reads the installed linux kernel:
uname -a

Remove the not necessary current kernel:

dpkg --purge --force-remove-essential kernel-image-2.6.8-2-386
(or other current kernel according the result of command uname -a)

Reboot your system.

This will give you full support for your dual xeon system with hyperthreading as well.


---

Hans :)

edge 17th June 2006 21:09

Thank you :-)

This is what it's showing now..

Quote:

host:~# cat /proc/cpuinfo
processor : 0
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.206
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 5583.66

processor : 1
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.206
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 5596.77

processor : 2
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.206
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 5596.77

processor : 3
vendor_id : GenuineIntel
cpu family : 15
model : 4
model name : Intel(R) Xeon(TM) CPU 2.80GHz
stepping : 3
cpu MHz : 2800.206
cache size : 16 KB
fdiv_bug : no
hlt_bug : no
f00f_bug : no
coma_bug : no
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 5
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush dts acpi mmx fxsr sse sse2 ss ht tm pbe lm pni monitor ds_cpl cid
bogomips : 5596.77

Hans 17th June 2006 21:20

Tatatata
 
Congratulations!

This looks good.

Good luck with your DEBIAN SMP system !

---
Hans

edge 17th June 2006 21:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hans
Congratulations!

This looks good.

Good luck with your DEBIAN SMP system !

---
Hans


Thanks Hans,

Only problem is that a friend helped me with it.. He installed the kernel-image-2.4.27-3-686-smp

I just asked him why he did not use the kernel-image-2.6.8-3-686-smp version..

He told me that he did not have any experience with upgrades from 2.4.x to 2.6.x (your info did help him)

Not sure if it's any different, and if it's worth risking upgrading the kernel again to 2.6.8

Thanks again for your help!

Hans 17th June 2006 22:08

to consider ...
 
2.4 or 2.6 kernel...The most important is that you have full advantage of your Debian SMP system now.

I also do not have the experience with updating from 2.4 to 2.6.
At this point i can not help you.

But if you just started you with a new and empty system you can consider to start over again and install the 2.6 kernel.

You can do this with the "linux26" command after inserting the Debian CD in your drive.

Maybe not important for you but good to know is that the 2.4 kernel series do not support SATA drives.

I have also seen that you choose for a 32 bit version.
I have installed the unofficial Debian Sarge 64 bit version with the kernel-image-2.6.8-12-em64t-p4-smp.

This Dual Xeon system is up and running for months now without any problems. Very stable. So if you want to give it a try....
(I mentioned this for consideration and have a little bit more advantage of your dual XEONs)

--

Hans

edge 17th June 2006 22:40

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hans
2.4 or 2.6 kernel...The most important is that you have full advantage of your Debian SMP system now.

I also do not have the experience with updating from 2.4 to 2.6.
At this point i can not help you.

But if you just started you with a new and empty system you can consider to start over again and install the 2.6 kernel.

You can do this with the "linux26" command after inserting the Debian CD in your drive.

I see. I might go back to the data center tomorrow, and try a new clean in stall with the linux26 option.

[QUOTE=Hans]Maybe not important for you but good to know is that the 2.4 kernel series do not support SATA drives.[/b]

This is not really a problem. The system is using a 3Ware pci card running 2 SATA HDD's in RAID1 mode.. Till now no problem..

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hans
I have also seen that you choose for a 32 bit version.
I have installed the unofficial Debian Sarge 64 bit version with the kernel-image-2.6.8-12-em64t-p4-smp.

Yes.. I have some othe applications that will not even install on a 64 bit OS (like ColdfusionMX7)

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hans
This Dual Xeon system is up and running now for months now without any problems. Very stable. So if you want to give it a try....
(I mentioned this for consideration and have a little bit more advantage of your dual XEONs)

If it was not for the aps that do not install on a 64 bit OS, I would for sure have used the 64 bit OS.

The system was using Fedora RC4, and it did peform okay for me (with sometimes some small hiccups caused for sure by me)

I will deside tomorrow if I will do a reinstall or keep the "now looking good" kernel-image-2.4.27-3-686-smp.

Thanks again for your help..

We need more people like you on this forum!

falko 18th June 2006 13:12

If your system has a Debian rescue system, you don't need to go to the data center, you can install a new Debian right through SSH. And of course, you need to install an SMP kernel.

Here's a nice tutorial, unfortunately it's in German, but maybe you understand the commands:
http://debiandox.barties.de/howtos/1...8/schritt1.htm

edge 18th June 2006 15:41

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
If your system has a Debian rescue system, you don't need to go to the data center, you can install a new Debian right through SSH. And of course, you need to install an SMP kernel.

Here's a nice tutorial, unfortunately it's in German, but maybe you understand the commands:
http://debiandox.barties.de/howtos/1...8/schritt1.htm

Thanks again falko,

I can read German (me Dutch), but I could not even do this if it was in Dutch :eek:

How much do you charge per/hr, or session? (I need more things that need looking at by a pro.)

till 18th June 2006 19:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by edge
How much do you charge per/hr, or session? (I need more things that need looking at by a pro.)

Please contact us by sending an email to info [at] projektfarm [dot] de.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:32.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.