HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips/Tricks/Mods (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   DNS Problems with Subdomains (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49098)

ZeroEnna 28th September 2010 10:36

DNS Problems with Subdomains
 
Hey there,

I wanted to fix a problems I recently encountered. I wanted to use subdomains. So for example: sub.example.com refers to example.com/sub

However, the DNS is not resolving this construction.

My domain address has a A- and MX-Record pointing to my server, and I can't create subdomains within my providers account. So how do I manage to get this working?

Kind Regards

Zero

till 28th September 2010 11:17

Either create dns a-records for the subdomains at your provider or you have to run your own nameserver and delegate that zone to your server.

ZeroEnna 28th September 2010 12:12

I inserted a DNS Record on the Server (DNS (SOA)), so if this is what you are talking about, then I did it. However, how can I attach the domain to this name zone?

till 28th September 2010 12:19

Quote:

I inserted a DNS Record on the Server (DNS (SOA)), so if this is what you are talking about, then I did it.
Thats only one part. The other part is to make your nameserver authoritive for that domains. You have to do this at the registry where you bought the domain name, by settings the nameserver records at the registry to point to your server. The exact procedure is different for every provider, so you might take a look into the help or manual pages of your domain provider for details.

ZeroEnna 28th September 2010 13:03

Problem located v.v
My provider denies to change the nameservers. so either I have to tell my customer, that there a no subdomains possible (or are they, but with Apache mod_rewrite? if so, how?), or I have to change the domain provider with at least 15 domains..... damn

till 28th September 2010 13:42

When you have no dns record for a subdomain, then this subdomain does not even point to your server so it does not matter if you create a vhost or a mod_rewrite rule, they will never match ast the browser does not even know which server he shall contact for that subdomain.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:08.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.