HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   some nasty behaviour of ISPConfig 3.0.2.2. (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49072)

Hans 27th September 2010 23:22

some nasty behaviour of ISPConfig 3.0.2.2.
 
Hi Till,
Today i dicovered some nasty behaviour of ISPConfig 3.0.2.2.
I try to tell you what i found out:

In ISPConfig3 on the master server, i added the new (additional) IP-addess 12.34.56.222 for an existing slave server.
Before i did that the slave server had the following content within /etc/network/interfaces:


Code:

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 12.34.56.111
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 12.34.56.0
        broadcast 12.34.56.255
        gateway 12.34.56.129

After adding the additional IP-address on the master server, the content of /etc/network/interfaces on the slave changed into:

Code:

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 12.34.56.222
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 12.34.56.0
        broadcast 12.34.56.255
        gateway 12.34.56.129

auto eth0:0
iface eth0:0 inet static
        address 12.34.56.111
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 12.34.56.0
        broadcast 12.34.56.255
        gateway 12.34.56.129

This is a problem, because of this automatic modification the slave server can not connect to the master anymore, because only root@12.34.56.111 is valid to connect to the master server, NOT root@12.34.56.222
So ISPConfig3 should not move 12.34.56.111 to eth0:0. but the new IP 12.34.56.222 instead!

So the right file content of /etc/networking/interfaces should be:

Code:

# This file describes the network interfaces available on your system
# and how to activate them. For more information, see interfaces(5).

# The loopback network interface
auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 12.34.56.111
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 12.34.56.0
        broadcast 12.34.56.255
        gateway 12.34.56.129

auto eth0:0
iface eth0:0 inet static
        address 12.34.56.222
        netmask 255.255.255.0
        network 12.34.56.0
        broadcast 12.34.56.255
        gateway 12.34.56.129

It would be nice if this behaviour can be changed in the next release of ISPConfig3.

edge 27th September 2010 23:29

Today I locked myself out by doing something like you did.
I can not access my server anymore, and as it's a test server in Alphen a/d Rijn (grafix) I need to go there tomorrow and rewrite the file interfaces (add the correct info).

I'm using eth6 an eth7 in it, and ISPconfig changed it to eth0 and 0:0
(for some reason eth0 till eth5 do not work on my system).

Long car drive tomorrow :-(

till 27th September 2010 23:48

@Hans: Please post it to the bugtracker so that we can check it.

@edge: I'am sorry that you have these problems. Thats the reason why the network configuration support is disabled by default. It can only be used for standard setups that use eth0. Other setups or network card names are not supported.

Hans 28th September 2010 00:25

@Till,
I did that now.

@Edge, i feel sorry for you.

till 28th September 2010 16:09

@edge. I've added a warning text to tthe network settings option to explain when it can not be used.

@hans: thanks for the bugtracker entry. Will fix that until 3.0.3 final.

edge 28th September 2010 16:45

Thank you both.

After a +2 hr car drive I managed to fix the server again! (normally it only takes 50 minutes, but I got stuck in a 11 KM traffic jam)

On the way back I took a quick lunch at the Mcdonalds (the only fun part about the trip today).

I'm now talking to the DC about getting KVM over IP.

PS. I've seen a lot of DC's here in the Netherlands, and for sure the girl behind the desk at the DC where I was today is the best looking one!
Damn she was cute...

Hans 28th September 2010 17:58

Ha ha ha, so it was worth to drive all the way to that dc !!!:D

Hans 28th September 2010 18:01

@Till,
Thanks for your quick solution! Your support is great.

till 28th September 2010 18:01

And I thought these kind of girls were all working in the internet design and marketing agencies :D

till 5th October 2010 17:35

Hello Hans, regarding your networking issue: The problem is most likely related to the /etc/hosts configuration. It is required for mysql that you define the hostname and Ip addresses of all servers that are part of the mulriserver setups in all hosts files of these servers. If thats not the case, the issue you reported may occur as mysql does a forward and a reverse lookup and tries to match these two lookups.

http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.1/en/dns.html

Changing the order of IP addresses in the network configuration file is no solution as this causes other systems to fail which require the the main address is the last IP and not the first IP. The only working solution seems to be to use the /etc/hosts file as it is described in the multiserver setup tutorial or to ensure that the hostnames and their reverse records match the server IP addresses.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:48.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.