HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   what are nameserver ip address should be displayed when cat /etc/resolv.conf? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=48631)

Alertshot 9th September 2010 07:45

what are nameserver ip address should be displayed when cat /etc/resolv.conf?
 
hi guys im new to dns i am following the http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-se...ispconfig-3-p2 tutorial i had a simple doubt in the cat /etc/resolv.conf
at first i describe my network and system
i got 16 static public ip and dhcp is enabled in the modem / router provided by isp now i had planned to develop a ispconfig 3 with dns and webserver together,
im using a static public ip for the machine network interface card and what should i need to provide for nameserver did i need to provide the same static ip used for eth1 or i need to provide dns ip adress provided by my isp
as i learned from my friends dns server should be configured with same ipaddress as eth1 but if i configure i couldnt able to connect to internet also

Please help me as soon as possible

till 9th September 2010 10:27

In /etc/resolv.conf there must be one or more external DNS servers listed that are reachable from your server. If you are in a local network and your router provides DNS functions, then use the IP of the router.

Alertshot 9th September 2010 11:04

i had installed ispconfig 3
 
but now it totally looks different from ispconfig 2,
i had followed http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
actually i had configured ispconfig 3 server as server.zambahotels.com and i already registered zambahotels.com with godaddy and i also did a A name record as ns1.zambahotels.com with my ispconfig server ip and also created a host summary as NS1 and the ispconfig server ip.
now can somebody help to configure ISP config.....

the actuall task is in isp config 3 server i need to add client harmoneehotels.com which should have dns server as ns1.zambahotels.com

please reply as soon as posibble

Alertshot 9th September 2010 11:13

did i need configure dns zone??
 
did i need configure dns zone for zambahotels.com where do i need to type the default nameserver 1 and 2

till 9th September 2010 11:15

Quote:

but now it totally looks different from ispconfig 2,
Sure, it is a completely different software.

To add a dns record, login to ispconfig, go to the dns manager module, click on the dns wizard > add dns zone, enter the domain "zambahotels.com2, the promary and secondary dns server and the email address and click on save. Thats all.

By the way, this is not related to the /etc/resolv.conf which is the topic of your thread.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:01.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.