HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   RAID 1, debian, installation small problem (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4823)

TheRudy 11th June 2006 15:53

RAID 1, debian, installation small problem
 
Hey

Well my sata disks are recognized by installer and now i'm in the next painfull step of creating RAID 1.

Using this tutorial: http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_software_raid it stops for me when it tries to create an array.
"No RAID partitions available"

All four partitions for 1 disk in total 8 partitions are set for RAID!

So i went to console (ALT+F2) and typed:

mknod /dev/md0 b 9 0
mdadm --create -l 1 -n 2 /dev/md0 /dev/sda1 /dev/sdb1

and array was successfully created:
cat /proc/mdstat gives me an md0 array..

Now i wanted to do this for all other 3 partitions (in total i have 4) using same steps:
mknod /dev/md1 b 9 0
mdadm --create -l 1 -n 2 /dev/md1 /dev/sda2 /dev/sdb2

It asks me for creating array, i type 'yes' and then it gives me an error:
mdadm: SET_ARRAY_INFO failed for /dev/md1: Invalid argument

Going back to first console, installation still gives me "no raid partitions available". Anyone knows what's going on here? Some hints would be appriciated..

TheRudy 11th June 2006 16:31

*bangs his head against the wall*

i should use:
mknod /dev/md1 b 9 1

for second and '9 2' for third and so on...

TheRudy 11th June 2006 17:05

Or i should use 'expert' mode and choose mdadm to be loaded lol an easier way :)

Sorry falko and other guys for spamming so much but i'm learning.. Plus maybe this will help someone...

falko 12th June 2006 11:32

I don't know if you understand German, but this tutorial is in German (and it's working, I tried :) ): http://debiandox.barties.de/howtos/1...8/schritt1.htm

TheRudy 12th June 2006 11:38

Oh lol, i forgot to post that i managed to do it using the above lines... I didn't use the expert mode in installation so i created raid arrays during installation in console..

It's up and running, sync process took 1 hour to do it...

Today i'll just test this by disconnecting the second drive and if it works, i'll try to disconnect the first one. Just to test in case one of the drives dies on me.. :)

Did learn a lot doing this on my own for the first time! It took only 2 days to get debian fully working on my server with sata :D


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:26.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.