HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Upgrade 2.2.36 can't change users' information (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47413)

DrJohn 19th July 2010 06:03

Upgrade 2.2.36 can't change users' information
 
I upgraded from 2.2.35 to 2.2.36 in a Ubuntu 9.10 KVM server instance. The upgrade required two passes through setup because I forgot about the issue with /usr/include/stdio.h, which had been reverted after the original 2.2.35 install, and so I had to restart the upgrade from the tar.gz unpacking. The second time through it ran as a new install (:confused:), although I entered the existing dbase names and password, and then ispConfig seemed to be configured correctly. It was working just fine until I needed to change a password for an existing user.

Went to the site, User & Email tab, clicked the username, entered new password, clicked Save, and saw "The username already is in use". The username is listed in /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/users (logically as this is an existing and active user). The same error occurs if I try to make other changes, such as add a site to the user's email whitelist.

What do I need to do to allow changes to users' information? I hesitate to delete the username from /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/users due to the convoluted path to the upgrade -- in case there is something misconfigured.

Thanks!

DrJohn 19th July 2010 07:28

Later on -- I checked and the password was changed after all, so the problem with the password at least seems to be only that the error message appeared.

falko 20th July 2010 13:53

Please delete the username from /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/users.

DrJohn 23rd July 2010 16:44

OK, that removed the error message. Should I not then delete all users from /home/admispconfig/ispconfig/users?

falko 24th July 2010 12:36

Only the users that you created with ISPConfig. You must leave all other users in there so that ISPConfig knows that it must not create such a user (because it already exists).

DrJohn 24th July 2010 22:47

Thank you, Falko, for the clarification!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:37.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.