HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   ISPC3 on CentOS 5.5 64 Bit - Installation fails with Path Errors & DB not imported (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47300)

kweitzel 14th July 2010 19:31

ISPC3 on CentOS 5.5 64 Bit - Installation fails with Path Errors & DB not imported
 
Hi,

after having used ISPC2 for about 2 years now, I took the chance of a failed hard drive to give V3 a go now. I prepared a Installation closely following the Perfect Server SetUp, but the base system was installed by the Serverprovider, Server4You. The Firewall and SE Linux are switched off. Unfortunately I failed with several issues:

1) Starting ISPC Installation results in 22 Lines of following error:
Quote:

sh: /which: Datei oder Verzeichnis nicht gefunden
(File or Folder not found)

2) If I go through anyway, at the End I was presended with the error, that the MySQL Data can not be imported. The Database is created correctly by ISPC.

3) On the Perfect Server Installation the SA-Update Command fails:
Quote:

Argument "1.39_01" isn't numeric in subroutine entry at /usr/bin/sa-update line 83.
Now, looking around the Forum I found a couple of users who had the first issue and a common question back to those users was: what is the output of the "echo $PATH" command, which nobody seems to have answered, so I just append it here:

Quote:

/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin:/root/bin
I take it there must be something missing, but currently I don't seem to be able to find out what. I tried Version ISPConfig-3.0.2.1 as well as ISPConfig-3.0.2.2

cheers

Klaus

veuster 14th July 2010 20:45

sharing
 
Just want to share some of my experience.

I recently install my VPS with ISPConfig 3 on CentOS 5.5, it is similar to what u r doing. I also don't know the default install of the server. But I managed to run it with the help of people on this forum.

1. Are you sure you are using CentOS 5.5 64 bit? Because mine is 32 bit. If yours is 32 bit, then you must replace all file name containing x86_64 with i386.
2. If you're doing remove and reinstall of ISPConfig 3, don't forget to delete the dbispconfig in mysql after uninstall procedure. And also reboot after that. Because if not, the installer will say old database still exist and cannot continue.
3. Just to make sure we use the same way to install, I follow the guide from step 7-Install some software, there's no need to follow step 1-6 unless you have specific needs.
4. The only thing that was not installed on my default server is cron. If yours is the same, just do yum install vixie-cron

Ok, that's it from me. If still no result, you can view the install log to find the error.

kweitzel 14th July 2010 21:00

Thanks for your comments on this, I appreciate you trying to help.

I am sure that I am running 64bit, also check the uname output:

Quote:

Linux localhost.localdomain 2.6.18-194.8.1.el5 #1 SMP Thu Jul 1 19:04:48 EDT 2010 x86_64 x86_64 x86_64 GNU/Linux
I started the whole guide at page 3 with the addition of switching off Firewall and SELinux (on page 2). Actually I started a 3 times over by now, just to make sure I didn't make any errors. Just for good measure I will restore the server again to the CentOS 5.5 LAMP Image and start again.

I was mainly thinking, that those errors I found where also reported a couple of times here in the forum, so there should be a solution.

cheers again

Klaus

dcy 14th July 2010 21:14

Quote:

Originally Posted by kweitzel (Post 233720)
Hi,
3) On the Perfect Server Installation the SA-Update Command fails:

Seems perl-Archive-Tar version 1.39.1-1 is the culprit.

Edit your /usr/bin/sa-update and change

Code:

use Archive::Tar 1.23;
to

Code:

use Archive::Tar;
D.

kweitzel 15th July 2010 22:48

Cheers for that, but it was "just" a byproduct recording this error in this post. I consider the other one(s) showstopper(s) and was hoping to get a solution there ... :D

cheers

Klaus

kweitzel 17th July 2010 14:57

So ... I take it nobody is able to shed some light on these issues ... shame though.

cheers

Klaus

dcy 17th July 2010 17:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by kweitzel (Post 234005)
So ... I take it nobody is able to shed some light on these issues ... shame though.
cheers
Klaus

Will try to install CentOS 5.5 and try it in a virtual box.

D.

dcy 17th July 2010 19:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by kweitzel (Post 234005)
So ... I take it nobody is able to shed some light on these issues ... shame though.

Well I just did the install on a CentOS 5.5 x64 and it worked flawlessly.

There is something else that makes me wonder.

Can you execute "which" on your machine to see whether 'which' is missing?

D.

kweitzel 17th July 2010 21:41

Is available: /usr/bin/which

Quote:

Usage: /usr/bin/which [options] [--] programname [...]
Options: --version, -[vV] Print version and exit successfully.
--help, Print this help and exit successfully.
--skip-dot Skip directories in PATH that start with a dot.
--skip-tilde Skip directories in PATH that start with a tilde.
--show-dot Don't expand a dot to current directory in output.
--show-tilde Output a tilde for HOME directory for non-root.
--tty-only Stop processing options on the right if not on tty.
--all, -a Print all matches in PATH, not just the first
--read-alias, -i Read list of aliases from stdin.
--skip-alias Ignore option --read-alias; don't read stdin.
--read-functions Read shell functions from stdin.
--skip-functions Ignore option --read-functions; don't read stdin.
Anyway, I was hoping on the info from the path statement, because this was where all the others stopped asking for help ... could you post your paths output for a crosscheck?

cheers

Klaus

veuster 17th July 2010 22:19

path
 
I'm using 32 bit, but the result seem almost the same:

/usr/kerberos/sbin:/usr/kerberos/bin:/usr/local/sbin:/usr/local/bin:/sbin:/bin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin

I think sa-update only for updating spamassasin, so it should not affecting the installation.

Maybe it's a permission problem. What user do you use, root or something else?

Why don't you try to check install log? It should be in /var/log/ispconfig3_install.log


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:14.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.