HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   fail2ban is not installed at this server (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47236)

cubells 12th July 2010 11:09

fail2ban is not installed at this server
 
Weird error.

Ispconfig 3.0.2.2
Debian lenny

Fail2ban installed but I get this message on control pannel:

fail2ban is not installed at this server.
See more (for debian) here...

# ps -A | grep fail
4337 ? 00:02:03 fail2ban-server

# ls -la /var/log | grep "fail"
-rw-r----- 1 root adm 0 11 jul 06:25 fail2ban.log
-rw-r----- 1 root adm 0 4 jul 06:25 fail2ban.log.1
-rw-r----- 1 root adm 290 4 jul 06:25 fail2ban.log.2.gz
-rw-r----- 1 root adm 333 27 jun 06:25 fail2ban.log.3.gz
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 160320 10 jul 17:28 faillog


Where's the problem???

till 12th July 2010 11:11

Post the output of:

which fail2ban-client

cubells 12th July 2010 11:27

# which fail2ban-client
/usr/bin/fail2ban-client

I reload fail2ban and now I get this:

# /etc/init.d/fail2ban restart
Restarting authentication failure monitor: fail2ban failed!

where can I check??

till 12th July 2010 11:57

Take a look in the syslog.

007007 22nd July 2010 12:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by cubells (Post 233406)
# which fail2ban-client
/usr/bin/fail2ban-client

I reload fail2ban and now I get this:

# /etc/init.d/fail2ban restart
Restarting authentication failure monitor: fail2ban failed!

where can I check??

I have the same problem, and i am sure that fail2ban is installed ...

any idea please ?

till 22nd July 2010 13:05

Take a look at the syslog and if there is a fail2ban log, check this too.

007007 22nd July 2010 22:53

hmm nothing works (monitor), but the sites work well (website, ftp, db)

http://www.pict.com/view/3826363/800/ispconfig
http://www.pict.com/view/3826366/800/ispconfig
http://www.pict.com/view/3826368/800/ispconfig
http://www.pict.com/view/3826371/800/ispconfig
http://www.pict.com/view/3826374/800/ispconfig
http://www.pict.com/view/3826378/800/ispconfig

any idea ???

till 22nd July 2010 22:58

What exactly have you done before the monitor stopped working and how is this related to cubecells thread that you added your question to?

007007 22nd July 2010 23:03

before it worked well

but yesterday I added some info on the DNS(soa), and hop nothing works !!

This morning I deleted the entry in DNS, but it still does not work ....

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 234502)
how is this related to cubecells thread that you added your question to?

http://www.pict.com/view/3826425/800/ispconfig

till 22nd July 2010 23:12

@cubecells: these answers are not related to your problem.

@007007:

Most likely the databse dont get filled as the server is not able to find the mysql serveranymore to insert the data which caused by the wrong dns record. As this affects most likely also the process that writes the data to disk, then your dns changes have not been removed yet as the access to the mysql databse is blocked.

What you can try is to stop the local dns server for a few minutes and wait. Hopefully the system is able to connect then to mysql gaian and so update the records and rewrite the dns.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:40.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.