HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Diffrent nic config setting showing when doing ifconfig (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=47127)

tbaror 8th July 2010 11:06

Diffrent nic config setting showing when doing ifconfig
 
Hello All,


i have encounter strange situation i have set all my network configuration via /etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0 ,eth0.2 ,eth1 etc .... (CentOs 5.5)

i have used only once Gnome network manage settings to add routing since then all my network config change although all files mention above showing the same config i have set initially and same for Gnome network Manager.

any idea what happen?.

Please advice

Thanks

falko 9th July 2010 10:13

I think you should disable the network manager. I don't know if this works for CentOS as well, but on Fedora this is done as follows:
Code:

chkconfig NetworkManager off
chkconfig --levels 35 network on
/etc/init.d/network restart



All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:28.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.