HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=15)
-   -   Russian domain names in ISPConfig 2 (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=46455)

dimas 9th June 2010 13:20

Russian domain names in ISPConfig 2
 
I've searched through the forums - but I wasn't able to find any information on the Russian domain names, so please kindly help me.

In fact, I've used the ISPConfig panel on my servers for 3 or more years - thanks again to the developers for their excellent software - but recently Russian domain names (that is, domain names that are displayed in Russian) came into being, and I can't add any such domain in ISPConfig.

I wonder if there is any solution to this situation?

falko 10th June 2010 14:40

Can you try this? http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...ghlight=umlaut

dimas 12th June 2010 14:12

Dear Falko, thank you very much - if I add my Russian-language domain IDN-encoded (in punicode), it indeed works!

BUT...

The problem is that I have to manually edit /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf (the server's Debian Lenny) - because the ISPConfig panel doesn't allow to add IDN-encoded names in full - that is, it's OK to add such names before the final two-letter code of the domain, but I can't add "xn--p1ai" (which stands for "rf" - when written in Russian).

Apparently, the panel performs a check to see if the domain zone is correctly entered - and it believes "xn--p1ai" to be incorrect...

As you realize, the problem with manually editing of the vhosts file is that it is re-written every time a change is made via the panel...

So I wonder if it's possible to make the ISPConfig panel bypass this check or (still better) make it consider the zones starting with "xn--" as correct ones?

Thanks again for your great help!

dimas 26th June 2010 17:13

One more question, I'm sorry...

Is it the same with ISPConfig 3 (I haven't tried it yet)?

Does it support long international zone names?

till 26th June 2010 19:23

Quote:

The problem is that I have to manually edit /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf (the server's Debian Lenny) - because the ISPConfig panel doesn't allow to add IDN-encoded names in full - that is, it's OK to add such names before the final two-letter code of the domain, but I can't add "xn--p1ai" (which stands for "rf" - when written in Russian).
I nrun a lot of IDN encoded domains in ISPConfig 2, so thats fully supported.

Quote:

and it believes "xn--p1ai" to be incorrect.
Thats indeed incorrect, as you missed to add the toplevel domain.

incorrect: xn--p1ai
correct: xn--p1ai.ru

dimas 28th June 2010 00:46

Dear Till, thank you for your reply, but that's exactly the problem!

There's no "ru" in the new russian-language domains.

The top level domain is now not "ru", but "рф" - it's written in Russian as well. So "xn--p1ai" (which stands for "рф") should be placed at the very end - and the panel sadly doesn't allow this.

dimas 2nd July 2010 23:50

So there's no solution at the moment...?

falko 3rd July 2010 12:19

I've added this to our bugtracker.

falko 10th August 2010 14:50

I've just fixed this.

dimas 23rd August 2010 09:02

Thanks a lot! I'll update to 2.2.37 tonight and report back!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:27.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.