HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   "does not list name servers" (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=46394)

atakacs 6th June 2010 23:51

"does not list name servers"
 
Hi

pretty new to myDNS so I might be overlooking something obvious...

I have setup my first "live" primary DNS and it seems to work rather well.

However running an external DNS tester I get an error to the effect that my server does not list name servers:

WARNING: At least one of your nameservers did not return your NS records (it reported 0 answers). This could be because of a referral, if you have a lame nameserver (which would need to be fixed).

xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx returns 0 answers (may be a referral)

I am pretty sure I have defined NS records for my zone... why would my server not return them ?

Any help / pointer appreciated

Regards

alex

falko 7th June 2010 13:52

Is your nameserver autoritative for the domain? You can find that out by running
Code:

dig ns yourdomain.com

atakacs 7th June 2010 15:05

Hi

Thanks for your help

Quote:

<<>> DiG 9.6.0-APPLE-P2 <<>> ns mydomain.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 13421
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mydomain.com IN NS

;; Query time: 9407 msec
;; SERVER: 208.67.222.222#53(208.67.222.222)
;; WHEN: Mon Jun 7 14:59:35 2010
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 29
It would seem I have no authorative server. How do I fix this (the authorative server would be the one managed by myDnsConfig ?!

Regards

alex

falko 8th June 2010 15:55

You can set an authoritative nameserver in the control panel of your domain registrar. In this case it should be your MyDNS server.

atakacs 8th June 2010 18:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko (Post 230659)
You can set an authoritative nameserver in the control panel of your domain registrar. In this case it should be your MyDNS server.

thanks - that's what I thought and I believe that's what I did... Will check with the registar to see what's up with them.

Regardss


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:49.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.