HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Yum not finding/listing installed rpms - missing dependency (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45956)

guna_pmk 18th May 2010 14:52

Yum not finding/listing installed rpms - missing dependency
 
Hello,

I have a disk of all the rpms (just the rpms) of RH Ent. 5.1. I needed to intall some packages from it. For that I created a local repository. Following is what I did:

1. mounted DVD in /media
2. Issued createrepo on /media (Now the packages are in /media/mycdrom/RHE5Rpms and the repodata is in /media)
3. I added the following in the /etc/yum.conf
[MyPackages]
name=Packs
baseurl=file:///media
enabled=1

Now when I try to install, for example, qt4-devel, it can resolve the dependencies for one level. For example, it resolves libpng-devel (which is needed by qt4-devel), but it fails to resolve libpng (which is needed by libpng-devel). But libpng package is both available in the DVD and is already installed on the machine. Following is the tail of error messages I get after issuing the command 'yum install qt4-devel'

.
.
.
.
Error: Missing Dependency: libpng = 2:1.2.10-7 is needed by package libpng-devel
Error: Missing Dependency: mesa-libGLU = 6.5.1-7.2.el5 is needed by package mesa-libGLU-devel
Error: Missing Dependency: libX11 = 1.0.3-8.el5 is needed by package libX11-devel
Error: Missing Dependency: mesa-libGL = 6.5.1-7.2.el5 is needed by package mesa-libGL-devel
Error: Missing Dependency: freetype = 2.2.1-16.el5 is needed by package freetype-devel

All the above packages are available through the DVD and already installed on the machine.

As suggested by several forums I issued 'yum clean all' and 'rpm -rebuilddb'. But I still get the same error after doing so.

If anybody knows what it is, please let me know.

If any of the above is not clear, please let me know. I shall try to explain more clearly.

Thanks

guna_pmk 19th May 2010 12:30

Solved
 
Thats my mistake. I had the Red Hat Enterprise 5.0 rpms in my repository but trying to update 5.1 machine. The version number for most of the packages were same/similar which cheated my eyes.

Sorry about the confusion and thanks guys for your support

Thanks


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:28.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.