HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   ISPConfig 3 DNS Zone Records (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45770)

onastvar 11th May 2010 22:56

ISPConfig 3 DNS Zone Records
 
Could somebody please post a screen shot of their ISPConfig 3 DNS Zone Records for:

domain1.com
domain2.com
domain3.com

I can't figure out what should be the correct DNS Zone Records for:

domain2.com
domain3.com

My domain1.com is working fine.

Thank You!

till 12th May 2010 09:12

Just use the dns wizard to create the zones for domain 2 and 3. It will create all nescessary records in a correct way for you.

onastvar 12th May 2010 15:41

Thanks Till that worked, however, right now I am getting

Code:

Apache 2 Test Page powered by CentOS
I tried to change my IP Address in Sites to "*" as well as my public IP address but I still get Apache 2 Test Page. This server has assigned pubic IP address so I'm not using any private IPs.

Any ideas what to check?

Thanks

Toucan 12th May 2010 21:00

Where are the DNS records for the sites you are hosting stored?

If you are hosting your own DNS records, then you need to have set up a name server record on you server and then given that ns record to the domain registrar.

This guide explains how to do it:
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_...domain_schlund

I put a brief guide to DNS in laymans terms here:
http://badbison.com/ispconfig3/dns-basics.html
beware, it is only my understanding of DNS and not approved but it does give an idea how things work in simple terms.

Hope it helps, but sorry if I'm preaching to the converted!;)

onastvar 12th May 2010 21:31

Thanks!

I have glue records at name.com. My domain names are pointing to my ISPConfig 3 name servers (ns1.mydomain.com & ns2.mydomain.com) I think they're working as they should (since I'm getting Apache 2 Test page). I think there's a problem with VirtualHost, possible something within ISPConfig 3 setup.

Any other ideas, what should I check?

Toucan 12th May 2010 21:53

When I did it, propogation made me wait the full 72 hours! Then it all worked.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:44.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.