HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   DNS issues in Ispconfig 3 (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=45462)

caseyc2 28th April 2010 16:46

DNS issues in Ispconfig 3
 
I seem to be having some dns issues with my installation. I have a multi-server setup.

I have the following: Webserver1, Webserver2, NS-Server, Email-server, Mysql-server and ispconfig-master-server. Updated to 3.0.2.1. This issue was happening before updating also (had 3.0.1.something before)

The installation seems to be working fine. The websites come up fine. The issues are that when I run any tests like dnscog or mxlookup they are unable to find any records for my domains.

Dnscog comes back and says it cant find a SOA. "We cannot find any SOA record returned from your nameservers." The nameservers at the domain registrar are pointing to the ns-server correctly.

In addition any time I add any new mx records they don't seem to be found. The dns servers also don't seem to come back as authoritative on the domains that atleast return the ns from nslookup.

till 28th April 2010 19:10

Please login to the controlpanel of your domain registry and make sure that your dns servers are set there as authoritive dns servers for the domain. If the hostnames of the dns servers belong to a domain that is hosted on the same dns server, then you have to add glue records at the domain registry.

caseyc2 28th April 2010 19:23

Till,

The domain registrar is networksolutions.com

I have the nameservers pointed to ns1.myhostingdomain.com and ns2.myhostingdomain.com - these hosts point to my ispconfig server (the myhostingdomain.com is also hosted my ispconfig). I do not understand how to set up the glue records at the domain registrar?

till 28th April 2010 19:30

With your stup, you need glue records for the domain myhostingdomain.com. Here is a explanation what a glue record is:

http://faq.domainmonster.com/dns/glue_record/

you might have to ask the support of your domain registrar if you dont know how to add them.

caseyc2 28th April 2010 19:54

Till,

I have sent you more information via PM.

caseyc2 28th April 2010 20:33

Till,

I did just notice that on the System tab in Ispconfig Master :8080 on the Server Config tab for the ispconfig master server the DNS tab has BIND information in it, and the actual NS1 server's DNS tab the fields are blank?

I believe I'm using mydns? could this be an issue?

tristanlee85 6th May 2010 04:22

I just noticed this as well. When I look at the monitor, it shows MyDNS is online, but under Server Config -> DNS it shows BIND.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.