HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Aliasdomain (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43827)

angel1st 4th March 2010 11:00

Aliasdomain
 
Hi I have domain beboran.net (configured & running) and I need to make beboran.com points to beboran.net. I believe it has to be done with Aliasdoman. Here is what I have done:
1. In my registrar admin pannel - set beboran.com nameservers to the same values as they are for beboran.net.
2. In ISPConfig (v. 3.0.1.6 under Ubuntu 9.10) - add new aliasdomain with the following params:
- Domain: beboran.com
- Parent Website: beboran.net
- Redirect Type: no redirect
- Auto-Subdomain: *.
- Active: Yes
Is there anything else I have to do?
Thanks in advance.

till 4th March 2010 11:12

You have to create dns records for the second domain. Pointing them to the same dns server is not enough.

angel1st 4th March 2010 11:21

What kind of dns records I have to create? I belive these records will be into the same DNS Zone (beboran.net)?

till 4th March 2010 11:27

No, in DNS, domain has its own zone. Create a new dns zone for beboran.net that must have at least A-Records for beboran.net. and www.beboran.net pointing to the same IP address then the A-Records for beboran.com. If you use ispconfig 3 dns server, the easiest way is to use the dns wizard to create the new dns zone.

angel1st 4th March 2010 11:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 220959)
No, in DNS, domain has its own zone. Create a new dns zone for beboran.net that must have at least A-Records for beboran.net. and www.beboran.net pointing to the same IP address then the A-Records for beboran.com. If you use ispconfig 3 dns server, the easiest way is to use the dns wizard to create the new dns zone.

Just to make sure - beboran.net is the origin, beboran.com is the aliasdomain. I have already DNS zone for beboran.net, so I have to create the new one or I have to create DNS zone for beboran.com?

till 4th March 2010 11:35

Sorry, mixed up your domain names. To exolain it more in general: for dns it does not matter if a domain is a website alias domain or not as there is no such thing as alias domains in the dns system. So you have to create a separate dns zone for every domain.

angel1st 4th March 2010 11:45

So far I have:
1. Aliasdomain for beboran.com (parent website - beboran.net).
2. New DNS zone for beboran.com (using wizard). It creates all default records for beboran.com domain.
3. DNS "A" record in DNS from point 2. Record params:
- Hostname: beboran.net
- IP: (same as IP for beboran.net)
- TTL: 86400
- Active: Yes
Is that all?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:20.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.