HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   Do I need mydnsconfig if I am running ipsconfig-3? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43800)

compuaim 3rd March 2010 15:12

Do I need mydnsconfig if I am running ipsconfig-3?
 
I have a brand new installation using perfect server fedora 12 64bit ispconfig-3

I am having some trouble with mydns but I am sure it has to do with me more than mydns,
mydns.config looks fine and changes in ispconfig3 are updating in the database. but I am still missing something since my server still not resolving the domain name.

I am very new to mydns, do I need to tell named to use mydns or is it automatic?

can some one tell me the bare minimum settings needed to get named and mydns to work on this senario?

server host name "server1"

name server registered with domain registrar "ns1.example.com"

domain name to be hosted on the the server "www.example.com"
the domain is registered with two name servers "ns1.example.com" and "ns2.some-other-server.com"

thank you so much for your help

till 4th March 2010 11:16

You dont need mydnsconfig, as mydnsconfig is the standalone verion of the dns module from ispconfig 3.

trexen 5th March 2010 14:47

Also got problem to get it to answer
 
at the outside (internet) as i whant my stand alone mydnsconfig to act as at DNS server for many Domains but i cant get it to work, properly and i follow the perfect setup debian lenny and for mydnsconfig, and mydns.conf looking ok.

it response ok on the inside but only for the domains i added.
Ports in router/firewalls for DNS is open also =)

Any idea

till 5th March 2010 14:53

mydns is not a resolver. So it can not resolve external domain names by itself. But you can set the Ip of a external dns server in mydns.conf that will be used by mydns for external domains.

trexen 5th March 2010 15:09

...
 
Yes, but i can still point lots off domains to mydns server t be the master DNS for the different domains.

example:

i point my domain01.com to mydns server to be the internet master DNS and i whant mydns server o be master DNS for other domains, it that possible?

i have point my domain01.com to mydns server to be master DNS for thet domain, but the server dont answer from the internet.

i got several bind DNS servers on other public IP and thay works fine

rgds
Marcus

till 5th March 2010 15:24

Please read my post again. mydns does not contain a dns resolver, so you have to do what I explained above. That it works differently when you use bind does not matter in this case, thats as if you say, my new printer must work with linux because it works on windows....

trexen 5th March 2010 15:26

..
 
I see, bad for me, i realy like the gui =)

thanx

till 5th March 2010 15:31

Quote:

Originally Posted by trexen (Post 221153)
I see, bad for me, i realy like the gui =)

What has this to do with the topic? Mydns can do the same things then you do it with bind, but you just refuse to read my post that explains how to configure it. Really funny. Where is the problem to having to change one line in one file to tell mydns the ip of the resolver?

till 5th March 2010 15:47

@trexen

Read the prt about configuring dnsmasq here for the detailed settings for a local dns resolver if you dont want to use a external resolver

http://www.howtoforge.com/mydns_mydn...on_ubuntu_edgy


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:40.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.