HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Need help with DNS and multiple site on single IP (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43496)

8com 16th February 2010 09:26

Need help with DNS and multiple site on single IP
 
Hi Everyone,
First of all this is my first time setting up a webserver to host multiple sites with one single IP. I have successfully install ISPconfig3 on Centos5.4 by following the guides.
*Requirements: I need to setup the following.
A web hosting server that able to hosting multiple sites on one ip.
I got my main website working which is 8comhosting.com and the dns is handle by my colocation company. ns1.xxxhosting.com.

Hardware:
One ESXi Server:
Centos5.4 64bits with ISPconfig3 setup.
Server with one Static IP assign by registrar and dns is handled by dns from colocation company.

The question is now:
I want to setup more sites on this same ip but for the dns stuff how do i config?
Option 1:
Do I need to setup another server for DNS server? Or myDNS can takecare of it on the current server IP? How do i config the dns?
Option 2: (which i don't want to do)
How do i configure the zone file on my colocation dns to accept multiple host on one IP?

I am new at this and if this is already post please direct me to the right post as I spend hours google and searching for a setup direction but no luck so far.

Thanks in advance,

till 16th February 2010 11:29

Quote:

A web hosting server that able to hosting multiple sites on one ip.
Thats the default setup. Just add as many sites as you want for the same IP as you did with your first site.

8com 16th February 2010 11:35

thank mate but what about the dns stuff? Do i set the domain server to point to the same dns server as the first one. Do i have to edit the zone file on the colocation dns server? Because I don't think I have a dns server running at the moment. I am running of the colocation dns server.

till 16th February 2010 11:40

Quote:

Do i set the domain server to point to the same dns server as the first one.
Yes. You can run ten thousands of domains from one dns server.

DaRKNeSS666NL 9th June 2010 17:16

Yes I have had the same question, so this is answered mine for 50% I guess.

I have some sites I want to move from my old ISPC2 to the new ISPC3 and yes I know they are 2 different systems so I CAN'T migrate.

I have set up my main site according to this image:
http://www.dcs-online.nl/ISPC.png

With the help from this howto. I know its not exactly the same but the howto was intended for ISPC2 so I used the dns wizard and made some things up.
I want to start fresh this time, and look more like a real ISP.... ;) so with separated pop3, smpt and web-mail.
(in ISPC2 I just used for all www.mydomaim.nl)

I think that if I set up a new site I must use the name servers as in the image, so the site will be reachable.
If I want the user of that site to reach his mail can I just tell him to use the pop3 and the smtp as in the image with his own user name and password? For reaching his mail?

If yes what is the purpose of the dns zone? Is this just for site's that uses different ip addresses? So if I set up (for example) a web-shop that uses SSL for its paying method, I have to use a second ip and than I have to create a second dns zone.

TIA

till 9th June 2010 20:42

The problem with the CNAME DNS Records in your screenhsot is that you forgot the dots at the end of the fully qualified domain names, which is required in DNS (at least when BIND or MyDNS is used). Examples:

wrong:

cname pop3.dcs-online.nl mail.dcs-online.nl

correct and equal are these records:

cname pop3 mail
cname pop3.dcs-online.nl. mail.dcs-online.nl.
cname pop3 mail.dcs-online.nl.

Quote:

what is the purpose of the dns zone?
A DNS zone is a domain for that your DNS Server is authoritive for. In your example. a dns zone is dcs-online.nl while e.g. howtoforge.com is a different dns zone. So why is it called a zone and not simply domain, the reason is that a zone represents a pert of the dns tree that someone is authoritive for. For example the registry where you registered your domain has just one zone, their zone is "nl" and from their view, dcs-online is a subdomain of their "nl" zone. But to make it easier for everyone to manage dns records, it is possible to delegate a part of a zone to another dns server, in this case, dcs-online.de is delagetaed to your server which enables you to add subdomains and records that are inside the dcs-online.nl zone.

Quote:

So if I set up (for example) a web-shop that uses SSL for its paying method, I have to use a second ip and than I have to create a second dns zone.
No.

DaRKNeSS666NL 10th June 2010 11:09

Think I am starting to understand it now.
The dns zone's are there so that if I get a reseller (I won't) he can make his own zone to use.

So in my case I am the only reseller everything is handled by mine dns zone.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:31.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.