HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   How do I setup my server? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43375)

Belelros 9th February 2010 14:43

How do I setup my server?
 
Hello!

At first thanks for your time. I really don't know what else must I do in order that my domain and my server works together.

I've pointed my domain (raideando.com) to my server but I think I may have set up at MyDNS but I don't have any idea of how to do that. I'm really n00b with this as this is my first dedicated server I have.

May someone bring me some light?

I've tried to do something with my little knowledges about that but it is not working.

Thanks in advance for your time.

falko 10th February 2010 13:56

Did you install MyDNSConfig?

Belelros 10th February 2010 14:03

Yes, it is in fact installed :)

Thanks for your reply

falko 11th February 2010 14:40

Code:

mh1:~# dig ns raideando.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> ns raideando.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 42065
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 2, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;raideando.com.                IN      NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
raideando.com.          172800  IN      NS      ks310370.kimsufi.com.
raideando.com.          172800  IN      NS      ns.kimsufi.com.

;; Query time: 155 msec
;; SERVER: 213.133.98.98#53(213.133.98.98)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 11 14:51:21 2010
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 79

mh1:~#

Are ks310370.kimsufi.com and ns.kimsufi.com your own servers? If so, is MyDNS installed on them and running?

Belelros 11th February 2010 16:49

Hi Falko,

My server is http://ks310370.kimsufi.com and you can check that MyDNS is installed in it by entering http://ks310370.kimsufi.com:8080/

ns.kimsufi.com is the secondary DNS that our hoster provide us.

The only thing I think is missing is the settings at the server.

Thanks for your replies ^^

falko 12th February 2010 14:10

In MyDNSConfig, you must first create a zone for raideando.com, and afterwards you add records like www, mail, etc.

Belelros 12th February 2010 14:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko (Post 219246)
In MyDNSConfig, you must first create a zone for raideando.com, and afterwards you add records like www, mail, etc.

Thats where I need help

falko 13th February 2010 16:15

Where exactly? What fields give you problems?

Belelros 13th February 2010 18:03

Well I set up a DNS zone but it seems that isn't working. I've tried so many configs and waited 24 hours but when you enter at raideando.com it keep solving host and, finally, doesn't work.

I don't know what to do right now :(

http://yfrog.com/jbmydnsconfigj

You can see that is well configured and also the Dig works as intended but... what's wrong so?


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:51.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.