HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   HOWTO-Related Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   How To Set Up Software RAID 1 On A Running LVM System (Incl. GRUB Configuration) (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43322)

GenePoole 7th February 2010 00:38

How To Set Up Software RAID 1 On A Running LVM System (Incl. GRUB Configuration)
 
I'm following your instructions and attempting to modify them to my environment.

My concern is that I didn't use the default partitioning during my install, I've got a partition (PV) for each of the major functions running on this machine (i.e. vg_opsys; vg_oracle; vg_websoft; etc.) for a total of 8 partitions on this 1 TB SATA drive.

I'm curious as to what should be done with partition 4 which is my type 5 (extended) partition type. Should I just ignore it when I'm changing the types on /dev/sdb to fd?

Also, there is at least 250 GB of free space on /dev/sda. How does that get converted to RAID 1? Or does it? And if it doesn't, should I just start all over and use hardware raid?

TIA
Gene

falko 7th February 2010 14:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by GenePoole (Post 218725)
I'm curious as to what should be done with partition 4 which is my type 5 (extended) partition type. Should I just ignore it when I'm changing the types on /dev/sdb to fd?

Yes, ignore it.

Quote:

Originally Posted by GenePoole (Post 218725)
Also, there is at least 250 GB of free space on /dev/sda. How does that get converted to RAID 1? Or does it? And if it doesn't, should I just start all over and use hardware raid?

TIA
Gene

You could add that space to an existing logical volume. Take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_lvm

GenePoole 18th May 2010 18:09

How To Set Up Software RAID 1 On A Running LVM System (Incl. GRUB COnfiguration)
 
It's been since February since you reply reached me. It appears that I've run into a bad batch of 1 TB hard disks. That's been solved so I can proceed.

I'm at the 'pvmove' step and this process take a very long time. What are the implications of establishing several sessions and doing multiple 'pvmove' processes at the same time? The 'mdadm --add' step concerns me because there have been some electrical issues in the area and my battery backup unit will only give me ~60-minutes. Your opinion?

Gene


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:40.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.