HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Please Help me with bind9. It's almost 3 days now (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=43258)

salman4u 4th February 2010 15:10

Please Help me with bind9. It's almost 3 days now
 
Hello,
I am begiiner in Linux and needless to say i am weak in networking fundamentals also. I just wanted to setup dns server using bind9. Read few tutorials and did exactly what it said but i am getting output from my public dns server means even if i type any junk address like dig kjkljkjlkjkljkljkl.com it gives NOERROR message. My domain name should be bapaji.com and I want my domain to be my localhost only means i just want that when i type bapaji.com in mozilla it should ping to my localhost. That's it. I have not hosted my website, it's in development stage.

When i did ifconfig i got this output

Code:

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:13:a9:81:82:87 
          inet6 addr: fe80::213:a9ff:fe81:8287/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1972 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2176 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1356415 (1.3 MB)  TX bytes:388743 (388.7 KB)
          Interrupt:16

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback 
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:274 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:274 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:23537 (23.5 KB)  TX bytes:23537 (23.5 KB)

wlan0    Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:18:de:d5:0e:68 
          inet addr:192.168.1.103  Bcast:192.168.1.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::218:deff:fed5:e68/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:657 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1025 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:391293 (391.2 KB)  TX bytes:150345 (150.3 KB)

wmaster0  Link encap:UNSPEC  HWaddr 00-18-DE-D5-0E-68-64-35-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00 
          UP RUNNING  MTU:0  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

I am behind router and it's default gateway is 192.168.1.1.

Here is my named.conf.local

Code:

//
// Do any local configuration here
//

// Consider adding the 1918 zones here, if they are not used in your
// organization
//include "/etc/bind/zones.rfc1918";

# This is the zone definition. replace example.com with your domain name
zone "bapaji.com" {
        type master;
        file "/etc/bind/zones/bapaji.com.db";
        };

# This is the zone definition for reverse DNS. replace 0.168.192 with your network address in reverse notation - #e.g my network address is 192.168.0
zone "1.168.192.in-addr.arpa" {
    type master;
    file "/etc/bind/zones/rev.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa";
};

Here is named.conf.options

Code:

options {
        directory "/var/cache/bind";

        // If there is a firewall between you and nameservers you want
        // to talk to, you may need to fix the firewall to allow multiple
        // ports to talk.  See http://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/id/800113

        // If your ISP provided one or more IP addresses for stable
        // nameservers, you probably want to use them as forwarders. 
        // Uncomment the following block, and insert the addresses replacing
        // the all-0's placeholder.

        forwarders {
              # Replace the address below with the address of your provider's DNS server
              61.1.96.69;
        };

        auth-nxdomain no;    # conform to RFC1035
        listen-on-v6 { any; };
};

This is my bapaji.com.db
Code:

// replace blogger.com with your domain name. do not forget the . after the domain name!
// Also, replace ns1 with the name of your DNS server
bapaji.com.      IN      SOA    bapaji.com.(
// Do not modify the following lines!
                                                        2006081401
                                                        28800
                                                        3600
                                                        604800
                                                        38400
 )

// Replace the following line as necessary:
// ns1 = DNS Server name
// mta = mail server name
// blogger.com = domain name
bapaji.com.      IN      NS              bapaji.com.

// Replace the IP address with the right IP addresses.
localhost        IN      A      192.168.1.103
mta              IN      A      192.168.1.103
ns1              IN      A      192.168.1.103

Here it's asked to put dns server name in place of ns1. But i don't know what is my dns server name. How can i know it's name?

This is my rev.1.168.192.in-addr.arpa

Code:

//replace bapaji.com with yoour domain name, ns1 with your DNS server name.
// The number before IN PTR blogger.com is the machine address of the DNS server. in my case, it's 1, as my IP address is 192.168.0.1.
@ IN SOA bapaji.com. bapaji.com. (
                        2006081401;
                        28800;
                        604800;
                        604800;
                        86400
)

                    IN    NS    bapaji.com.
103                    IN    PTR    bapaji.com

This is /etc/resolve.conf

Code:

# Generated by NetworkManager
domain PARAG
search PARAG
nameserver 208.67.220.222
nameserver 208.67.220.220

search bapaji.com
nameserver 192.168.1.103

Now when i do dig bapaji.com i get :-

Code:

administrator@ubuntu:~$ dig bapaji.com

; <<>> DiG 9.6.1-P2 <<>> bapaji.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 48301
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;bapaji.com.                        IN        A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
bapaji.com.                0        IN        A        208.67.219.132

;; Query time: 409 msec
;; SERVER: 208.67.220.222#53(208.67.220.222)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb  4 09:02:49 2010
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 44

I don't understand why do i get this number "208.67.219.132"? It's on localhost then it should be 127.0.0.1 but it always gives "208.67.219.132" and even when i do something rubbish like jkhjhkkkhkjhjkjk.com i get this output

Code:

administrator@ubuntu:~$ dig jkhjhkkkhkjhjkjk.com

; <<>> DiG 9.6.1-P2 <<>> jkhjhkkkhkjhjkjk.com
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 26745
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;jkhjhkkkhkjhjkjk.com.                IN        A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
jkhjhkkkhkjhjkjk.com.        0        IN        A        208.67.219.132

;; Query time: 363 msec
;; SERVER: 208.67.220.222#53(208.67.220.222)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb  4 09:04:47 2010
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 54

Please help me geeks. I am at your mercy. Nobody in my college uses Ubuntu and those use don't know nicely. They are in the same category as me. So please!

falko 5th February 2010 15:35

I guess this happens because you use the OpenDNS nameservers in /etc/resolv.conf. Please fill in
Code:

nameserver 145.253.2.75
as the first line in /etc/resolv.conf and try again.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:19.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.