HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Suse Ispconfig and AWstats (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4291)

shajazzi 14th May 2006 15:03

Suse Ispconfig and AWstats
 
I have been trying to set up awstats for a while now but have fallen on hard ground.
I ran the set up as follows:

mybox:~ # rpm -ivh awstats-6.5-1.noarch.rpm

Preparing... ########################################### [100%]
1:awstats ########################################### [100%]

----- AWStats 6.5 - Laurent Destailleur -----
AWStats files have been installed in /usr/local/awstats

If first install, follow instructions in documentation
(/usr/local/awstats/docs/index.html) to setup AWStats in 3 steps:
Step 1 : Install and Setup with awstats_configure.pl (or manually)
Step 2 : Build/Update Statistics with awstats.pl
Step 3 : Read Statistics

mybox:~ # cd /usr/local/awstats/tools

mybox:/usr/local/awstats/tools ./awstats_configure.pl

----- AWStats awstats_configure 1.0 (build 1.6) (c) Laurent Destailleur -----
This tool will help you to configure AWStats to analyze statistics for
one web server. You can try to use it to let it do all that is possible
in AWStats setup, however following the step by step manual setup
documentation (docs/index.html) is often a better idea. Above all if:
- You are not an administrator user,
- You want to analyze downloaded log files without web server,
- You want to analyze mail or ftp log files instead of web log files,
- You need to analyze load balanced servers log files,
- You want to 'understand' all possible ways to use AWStats...
Read the AWStats documentation (docs/index.html).

-----> Running OS detected: Linux, BSD or Unix

-----> Check for web server install

Enter full config file path of your Web server.
Example: /etc/httpd/httpd.conf
Example: /usr/local/apache2/conf/httpd.conf
Example: c:\Program files\apache group\apache\conf\httpd.conf
Config file path ('none' to skip web server setup):
> /etc/apache2/httpd.conf

-----> Check and complete web server config file '/etc/apache2/httpd.conf'
AWStats directives already present.

-----> Update model config file '/etc/awstats/awstats.model.conf'
File awstats.model.conf updated.

-----> Need to create a new config file ?
Do you want me to build a new AWStats config/profile
file (required if first install) [y/N] ? y

-----> Define config file name to create
What is the name of your web site or profile analysis ?
Example: www.mysite.com
Example: demo
Your web site, virtual server or profile name:
> www.xxxxx.com

-----> Define config file path
In which directory do you plan to store your config file(s) ?
Default: /etc/awstats
Directory path to store config file(s) (Enter for default):
>

-----> Create config file '/etc/awstats/awstats.www.xxxxx.com.conf'
Config file /etc/awstats/awstats.www.xxxxx.com.conf created.

-----> Add update process inside a scheduler
Sorry, configure.pl does not support automatic add to cron yet.
You can do it manually by adding the following command to your cron:
/usr/local/awstats/wwwroot/cgi-bin/awstats.pl -update -config=www.xxxxx.com
Or if you have several config files and prefer having only one command:
/usr/local/awstats/tools/awstats_updateall.pl now
Press ENTER to continue...


A SIMPLE config file has been created: /etc/awstats/awstats.www.xxxxx.com.conf
You should have a look inside to check and change manually main parameters.
You can then manually update your statistics for 'www.xxxxx.com' with command:
> perl awstats.pl -update -config=www.xxxxx.com
You can also read your statistics for 'www.xxxxx.com' with URL:
> http://localhost/awstats/awstats.pl?...=www.xxxxx.com

Press ENTER to finish...

mybox:/usr/local/awstats/tools #

Ok in address bar i entered this

http://localhost/awstats/awstats.pl?www.xxxxx.com
Then i ran the manual update

# /usr/local/awstats/tools/awstats_updateall.pl now

Everything is OK uptil now.

Then i ran the setup again for another site www.yyyyy.com.
and updated again
# /usr/local/awstats/tools/awstats_updateall.pl now

It is then that i noticed awstats was pulling the same info for both sites.
I then dicovered that ispconfig has created 6 ispconfig_access_logs in /var/log/httpd. I have tried each one of these and can pull data through
http://localhost/awstats/awstats.pl?www.xxxxx.com and http://localhost/awstats/awstats.pl?www.yyyyy.com
but the data is not correct
There must be another ACCESS_LOG somewhere that i have overlooked, i have done a search but cannot locate it or do i need to tweek ispconfig ?
Any ideas please?

shajazzi:confused:

falko 14th May 2006 15:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by shajazzi
There must be another ACCESS_LOG somewhere that i have overlooked, i have done a search but cannot locate it or do i need to tweek ispconfig ?
Any ideas please?

shajazzi:confused:

/var/log/httpd conatinas the logs for all web sites in one log file.
You can find the site-specific log files for each site in e.g. /var/www/web1/logs/web.log, /var/www/web2/logs/web.log, etc.

shajazzi 15th May 2006 02:04

Thanks falko,
that`s working fine now.
However when I ran apt-get update this new problem is now with me.

W: There are multiple versions of "awstats" in your system.

This package won't be cleanly updated, unless you leave
only one version. To leave multiple versions installed,
you may remove that warning by setting the following
option in your configuration file:

RPM::Allow-Duplicated { "^awstats$"; };

To disable these warnings completely set:

RPM::Allow-Duplicated-Warning "false";

W: You may want to run apt-get update to correct these problems

Any ideas? thanks

shajazzi

falko 15th May 2006 15:49

Where did you get that awstats-6.5-1.noarch.rpm package from? Is it an official package of your distribution?

shajazzi 15th May 2006 23:04

I got AWstats from here http://awstats.sourceforge.net/
and I recieved no errors on the install.

Mabe I have some splinters left over from previous installs.
I ran apt-get update again and the error was gone.
Yet this morning it reappeared on the first apt-get update and on the second one it diappeared.
I also noticed that Suse Watcher has an update ready to be installed. I installed this on a previous server and it messed everything up by moving Awstats files and folders around
so i will not be doing this update again.


shajazzi


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:47.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.