HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   DNS Issues (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4273)

CoolCat 13th May 2006 01:53

DNS Issues
 
Just finished installing ISP Config and it works like a champ! I can log in and make updates, etc. as needed. I am having a problem with the DNS settings though. I created a site within ISP Config named site1 with the ip of the server box (192.168.0.100) From there I created 2 co-domains (server1.site1.com & server2.site1.com) Checking the DNS manager tab I have 3 DNS entries. (site1.com, server1.site1.com, & server2.site1.com) all pointing to my internal ip for the server (192.168.0.100) I then went and changed my nameservers for site1 where the domain was purchased (GoDaddy) and changed them to server1.site1.com & server2.site1.com I keep getting dns errors when trying to view my site www.site1.com

Is this a correct setup? Why am i receiving these errors?

falko 13th May 2006 13:29

Don't use local IP addresses for DNS records! IF you use local IP addresses, only people within your LAN can see your web sites.
Go to the DNS Manager in ISPConfig and replace your local IP addresses with your router's public IP address.

CoolCat 13th May 2006 16:40

Just want to make sure I get this straight...

Under DNS manager tab I have three entries
site1
server1.site1.com
server2.site2.com

Under the domain tab in the DNS manager they all have their respective (doa) along with the external ip address.
Under the options tab in the DNS manager they all have the external ip address as the nameservers.
Under the records tab in the DNS manager they all have the external ip address under their A and MX records.

Am i missing something?

falko 14th May 2006 17:55

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoolCat
Under the domain tab in the DNS manager they all have their respective (doa) along with the external ip address.

Yes.

sVXgNJnLUnder the options tab in the DNS manager they all have the external ip address as the nameservers.[/QUOTE]No, not IP addresses, but FQDNs like ns1.example.com and ns2.example.com.
sVXgNJnLUnder the records tab in the DNS manager they all have the external ip address under their A and MX records.
[/QUOTE]
Yes, IP addresses for the A records, but FQDNs for MX records.
Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:52.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.