HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   New ISPConfig Install (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4214)

nubtool 10th May 2006 22:19

New ISPConfig Install
 
Hi all, Great site BTW.

I have been looking around here the last couple days and i have just completed a new install of Fedora 5. I followed the The Perfect Setup from Falko and it went well. I didnt install the Mail portion because i dont require that at this time [read didnt feel like it]. :)


Im following this install guide for ISPConfig:

Important: ISPConfig is meant to be installed on new Linux installations with no web sites, so if you run a server with hundreds of web sites and need a control panel that can take care of those existing web sites, then ISPConfig is not for you!

Log in to your shell as root.
Unpack the ISPConfig-archive

tar xvfz ISPConfig*.tar.gz

and change to the directory install_ispconfig:

cd install_ispconfig

In this directory please check the file dist.txt and see if the values given there suit to your
Linux installation (they should be suitable for standard installations). If you change any
values please be sure not to change the format of the file.
Then start the setup-script from there:

./setup

The installer will now compile an Apache with PHP5 that will run on port 81 and is needed by the ISPConfig system itself. It will not interfere with your existing Apache installation so you can go on unworried.

Important: Be sure to have installed gcc, flex and all the other tools neded for compiling sources before you run ./setup! You also need to install the MySQL header files which normally come in a package called mysql-devel, mysql-dev, libmysql-devel or something similar. Otherwise PHP5 will not compile, and the installation of ISPConfig stops!

Onto the Question:

I have logged onto the Terminal as root and tried running the install. But i was using "yum" thruought the HOW TO. How do start the install with yum? How do i install GCC and FLEX?

Yes im a nub [read newb]. :D

Thanks for your help in advance.

falko 10th May 2006 23:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by nubtool
I have logged onto the Terminal as root and tried running the install. But i was using "yum" thruought the HOW TO. How do start the install with yum? How do i install GCC and FLEX?

If you've followed the tutorial to the letter, gcc and flex are already installed (if they aren't, the ISPConfig installer will tell you... ;) ).
You don't need yum to install ISPConfig.
This is what you do:
Code:

cd /tmp
wget http://mesh.dl.sourceforge.net/sourceforge/ispconfig/ISPConfig-2.2.2.tar.gz
tar xvfz ISPConfig-2.2.2.tar.gz
cd install_ispconfig
./setup


nubtool 10th May 2006 23:55

hmm...

My test laptop is at work so i will post back with an update tomorrow. Thanks!

nubtool 11th May 2006 19:14

Well so far so good!

I am now being asked: PLease enter your MySQL server name:

Is this the name of my machine? The IP address?

Not sure what to input here. Please forgive my ignorance, its my first dive into the Linux world. Also, i cant find /home/www...


Thanks,

nub

falko 12th May 2006 11:24

Quote:

Originally Posted by nubtool
Well so far so good!

I am now being asked: PLease enter your MySQL server name:

Is this the name of my machine? The IP address?

Enter localhost

Quote:

Originally Posted by nubtool
Also, i cant find /home/www...

This directory will be created by ISPConfig automatically.

nubtool 12th May 2006 15:40

OK i have passed the install. :cool:

BUT:
1. Cant logon with default username/password [admin,admin] with ISPConfig.
2. I can view my ISPConfig default website from within my network, but not from outside. I have configured port forwarding to the server; both 80/81. Should it be in a DMZ instead?
3. I have a DYNDNS site: xventures.dnsalias.net that is forwarded to my Apache and ISPConfig server (80/81). I cant see the ISPConfig site from their. Is it a Fedora firewall problem?
4. Is their a way of changing the username/password to logon to ISPConfig homepage without being logged in?
5. When setting up MySQL i think i used a user name of test instead of root could this be the problem im having when trying to logon to ISPConfig? How do i change that if its the problem?

Thanks for your patience.

falko 12th May 2006 21:29

Quote:

Originally Posted by nubtool
1. Cant logon with default username/password [admin,admin] with ISPConfig.

Please check if the ISPconfig database exists and if there a tables with records in it: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1703

Quote:

Originally Posted by nubtool
2. I can view my ISPConfig default website from within my network, but not from outside. I have configured port forwarding to the server; both 80/81. Should it be in a DMZ instead?
3. I have a DYNDNS site: xventures.dnsalias.net that is forwarded to my Apache and ISPConfig server (80/81). I cant see the ISPConfig site from their. Is it a Fedora firewall problem?

Did you disable SELinux and the firewall as shown in the FC5 howto?

Quote:

Originally Posted by nubtool
4. Is their a way of changing the username/password to logon to ISPConfig homepage without being logged in?

I don't understand that question... :confused:
Quote:

Originally Posted by nubtool
5. When setting up MySQL i think i used a user name of test instead of root could this be the problem im having when trying to logon to ISPConfig? How do i change that if its the problem?

You mean during the ISPConfig installation you specified test as MySQL user instead of root? That's a serious problem, that explains why you can't login. The only solution would be to delete ISPConfig and install it again...

nubtool 12th May 2006 23:58

Looks like i will be doing a fresh install. :rolleyes:

Thx!:D

skin 16th May 2006 20:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by falko
Enter localhost

This directory will be created by ISPConfig automatically.

Falko,

I entered "localhost" and it asks for my user and pass. I enter "admin" "admin" and is says the password is incorrect.

I also entered "admin" and for my password I entered my other password I entered for everything else on this install. I also tried root as a login but I do not know the password apparently?

I also had skipped this step...
mysqladmin -h server1.example.com -u root password yourrootsqlpassword

per this post...
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4150

I still had planned to finish that step but just had skipped it for then. Until now I had forgotten about it. I figure that is relevant to the issue at hand.

Thanks,
Carl

falko 17th May 2006 15:46

Quote:

Originally Posted by skin
Falko,

I entered "localhost" and it asks for my user and pass. I enter "admin" "admin" and is says the password is incorrect.

You must use root and the password for the MySQL user root (the one you specified with
Code:

mysqladmin -u root password yourrootsqlpassword
).


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:30.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.