HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Tips/Tricks/Mods (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=29)
-   -   Moving the ISPconfig web interface and subdomain (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41378)

cozened 27th November 2009 03:11

Moving the ISPconfig web interface and subdomain
 
Good day,

I was hoping to find someone who could guide me.

What I wanted to do is move the ISPconfig web interface, currently it is like this:

name.example.com/ispconfig

what I want is

anothername.example.com

No problem doing this with Squirrelmail, just made a site in ISPconfig and used ln -s

But doing this on the web interface folder for ispconfig resaults in error 500 and nothing works.

Thank you so much!

Best Regards
Tomas
tomas@tyrael.is

damir 27th November 2009 09:42

Have you setup vhost correctly? The one that redirects to ispconfig?

cozened 27th November 2009 19:47

Well , I just added a site using the iscponfig interface, do I need to change the vhost? I'm not sure excatly what you are talking about :o

With best regards
Thomas

cozened 27th November 2009 19:52

Here is the error message from the server:
Quote:

Internal Server Error

The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Additionally, a 404 Not Found error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request.

till 28th November 2009 16:41

Quote:

But doing this on the web interface folder for ispconfig resaults in error 500 and nothing works.
Thats because you are doin a security violation.

The ispconfig interface is a dedicated vhost on port 8080 and you have to connect to it by http://yourdomain.com:8080/

cozened 28th November 2009 17:03

Well when I did install ISPconfig I moved it to port 80.
I understand what you mean, I located the ispconfig.vhost files in /etc/apache2/sites-available and added "ServerName anothername.example.com" after <virtualhost *:80> and removed the site I had added for that domain.

Then I commented out "NamedVirtualHost *:80 and presto it works :)

Thank you for your help!


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:34.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.