HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   ping problem !! (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=4136)

kong121s 8th May 2006 11:54

ping problem !!
 
my situation is
- I can ping full name (www.test.com) from outside server but I can't ping test.com
- I can ping both www.test.com and test.com inside my server.(use Putty)
- I can't ping mail.test.com !! but I can send mail and received mail as well.

may be coz' I changed IP address of my server and didn't fix some file.

Thank you.

kong121s 8th May 2006 12:11

:confused: I forget question. (-.-")

My question is How to fix this problem? Which file I should fix?

I config new IP by use ISPconfig > management > server > setting
and config some files:
/etc/hosts
/etc/sysconfig/network-scripts/ifcfg-eth0
/etc/sysconfig/network
/etc/resolv.conf
DNS of all website, I removed it and recreated for each website.

I try to find the solution in this forum but not found.

Help me please. Thank you
:)

falko 9th May 2006 00:46

Did you have a look here? http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2760

kong121s 9th May 2006 05:34

Yes, I have already read that thread before I made this thread.

After I setting IP in Management > server > setting
I look for some files which contain IP Address.
some file must made a change by myself and some files are changed by ISPconfig.

ps.I use Fedora core 5 with ISPconfig 2.2.1

falko 9th May 2006 17:30

Did you change the DNS records for test.com and mail.test.com so that they point to your new IP?

kong121s 9th May 2006 20:53

Yes. I deleted all dns in DNS manager and then empty recycle bin.
and recreated dns in ISP Manager.

falko 9th May 2006 22:50

Can you post your real domain here?

kong121s 10th May 2006 04:26

thank for your help, falko :)

but I can ping test.com now!
may be ISP doesn't fully update.
I think that coz' I did't change anything at last night
but it work at this morning.

Rustin 10th May 2006 07:28

Quote:

Originally Posted by kong121s
thank for your help, falko :)

but I can ping test.com now!
may be ISP doesn't fully update.
I think that coz' I did't change anything at last night
but it work at this morning.

Most ISP's DNS resolvers will cache DNS answers for 4 hours (on average) to save them work. Windows does this too, except it remembers entries for 24 hours (by default) and even caches failed DNS answers for five minutes.
It's almost essential to have a local non-caching (or the ability to clear the cache) DNS resolver when running a DNS server. Otherwise you can use (at the windows command prompt)
Code:


nslookup <name to lookup> <ip of dns server to use>

to see if it's your ISP's DNS server or your DNS server.
Also you can flush windows cache with
Code:

ipconfig /flushdns


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:25.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.