HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Server Operation (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   eaccelerator and PHP (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=41200)

Ovidiu 21st November 2009 14:52

eaccelerator and PHP
 
running a Debian 5.0 + ISPCFG3 installation.
I know eaccelerator like tools don't work with suPhp.

I installed eaccelerator and my sites running on fasCGI do use it.

Now I wondered why phpinfo() shows eaccelerator enabled on my suPhp vhsots too. Can it be disabled for those? Is it wasting my memory? I have 2 sites running fastCGi and 8 or so using suPhp.

the fastCGi ones report:

Code:

eAccelerator
eAccelerator support        enabled
Version        0.9.5.3
Caching Enabled        true
Optimizer Enabled        true
Memory Size        67,108,800 Bytes
Memory Available        21,573,800 Bytes
Memory Allocated        45,535,000 Bytes
Cached Scripts        412
Removed Scripts        0
Cached Keys        52

the suPhp ones report:
Quote:

eAccelerator
eAccelerator support enabled
Version 0.9.5.3
Caching Enabled true
Optimizer Enabled true
Memory Size 67,108,800 Bytes
Memory Available 67,099,880 Bytes
Memory Allocated 8,920 Bytes
Cached Scripts 1
Removed Scripts 0
Cached Keys 0

Ovidiu 24th November 2009 13:09

anyone? Or is this a silly question?

falko 25th November 2009 16:21

I'm not sure how it can be disabled. http://suphp.org/DocumentationView.html?file=CONFIG doesn't say anything about how to specify a custom php.ini... :(

Ovidiu 26th November 2009 12:00

So basically I am wasting memory?

I should either consider switching my suphp vhosts to fastCGI to make use of the eaccelerator memory or switch the fastCGI ones to suPhp and stop using eaccelerator, right?

Ovidiu 26th November 2009 12:02

would this somehow work? can you have a look please?

http://www.watters.ws/wiki/index.php...ile_with_suPHP
http://www.suphp.org/Home.html

have a look at the changes in 0.2:
Quote:

Changes in version 0.2
- Added support for (de-)activation for each VirtualHost defined in the Apache configuration
- Added support for different php.ini's, configurable in the Apache config

Ovidiu 16th December 2009 10:06

@Falko:

Have you had a look? Would that work out? To me it looks like its possible, but I am still not sure if there is any gain in this - making extra php.ini's for suPhp so thta eaccelerator isn't loaded?

Ovidiu 23rd February 2010 21:37

any opinions on this? jsut want to know if what I am saying/suspecting makes sense.

Ovidiu 20th November 2010 16:53

I have two vhosts, one with fastcgi+suexec the other one with suphp.

I have one info.php file inside each vhost and the output is:

For the suPHP enabled one:
Server API CGI/FastCGI
Virtual Directory Support disabled
Configuration File (php.ini) Path /etc/php5/cgi
Loaded Configuration File /var/www/conf/web7/php.ini

For the FastCGi enabled one:
Server API CGI/FastCGI
Virtual Directory Support disabled
Configuration File (php.ini) Path /etc/php5/cgi
Loaded Configuration File /etc/php5/cgi/php.ini

Now why would the first one also claim he is CGI if he is actually running on suPHP? I killed all fastcgi processes and restarted apache a couple of times, still no changes...


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.