HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   Server Config Screen.. Should I edit? (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=40602)

beezer1424 2nd November 2009 02:07

Server Config Screen.. Should I edit?
 
If I go to System > Server Config> "choose my server" > Server tab

the entries are as follows:

Network configuration not checked (till said that was fine)
IP Address : the correct address of my server
Netmask: the correct netmask
Gateway: 192.168.0.1 (not my gateway IP but there by default)
Hostname: the correct hostname of my server
Nameservers: 192.168.0.1,192.168.0.2 (not my nameservers)

any thoughts

till 2nd November 2009 10:29

Thats fine and does not have to be edited. The automatic network configuration is disabled by default, so these values are not used until you enabbled automatic network configuration and this is supported only on debian.

drewb0y 5th October 2010 13:05

What file does this actually change? I found out the hard way that if you change those settings, it breaks webmail and ispconfig loading. I do still have SSH access though.

Looking at this post did not help as my interfaces file has not changed.

What file does server config change that is supposed to have gateway of 192.168.0.1 and nameservers of 192.168.0.1 and 192.168.0.2?

Server is configured using Debian Lenny 5.0.6 and ispconfig 3.0.3-rc1 with roundcube and the roundcube interface plugins.

drewb0y 6th October 2010 00:17

Fixed
 
Thanks to Till.
I actually posted this in a new threadx under Install/Config which was more appropriate and more watched.

For the resolution that worked for me, look at this thread here.

Chris Graham 11th February 2013 21:11

Hi,

I noticed this myself. I would suggest for usability that it should either try to detect what the system already has, or makes more likely defaults.

From the point of view of a new user, this looks like it just shows existing settings, and you'd save it to tune them. But if the user did so, it would be highly destructive to them (I could even imagine losing server access as a result of wrong settings here).


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:18.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.