HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Server Setup: DNS, Sites, Email (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=40573)

beezer1424 31st October 2009 18:16

Server Setup: DNS, Sites, Email
 
2 Attachment(s)
It would be so wonderful if someone could give me some guidance. I am doing a fresh install of debian 5.0.3 with ISPconfig 3. I am able to setup the server with no issues… thanks falko. Now I need to know how to work with ISPconfig3.
Would someone please tell me the order in which to setup the server in ISPConfig3, specifically:
1. What do I setup first ?
a. DNS
b. Server Config
c. Websites
d. Email
e. Users (admin is the default user, but I don’t see him in the users
section)

2. I have attached DNS, website, and server configuration screen
shots.

thank you

lano 31st October 2009 20:35

This is how I usualy do it:
1. add new client and enter limits (I do that from templates)
2. add dns zones and assign it to client. I use template below
Code:

[ZONE]
origin={DOMAIN}.
ns=ns1.mydomain.tld.
mbox=domreg@mydomain.tld.
refresh=28800
retry=7200
expire=604800
minimum=86400
ttl=86400

[DNS_RECORDS]
A|{DOMAIN}.|123.4.56.78|0|86400
A|www|123.4.56.78|0|86400
A|mail|123.4.56.78|0|86400
NS|{DOMAIN}.|ns1.mydomain.tld.|0|86400
NS|{DOMAIN}.|ns2.mydomain.tld.|0|86400
MX|{DOMAIN}.|mx.mydomain.tld.|10|86400

note, than my secondary dns is set with mysql replication on second server runnung MyDns

3. create website, assign it to client, create ftp and mysql, if needed
4. create e-mail domain and assign it to client.

If nessesary, limit visible client tabs (options) in system tab.

You will do fine tuning by yourself.

This is how I do it and it is not nessesary correct way :)

David

beezer1424 1st November 2009 01:55

Thanks!
 
Great,
I will geive it a try. In System > Server Config , do you have a check next to Network configuration? If so what is ISPConfig doing? By default it is unchecked.

thanks again.

till 1st November 2009 11:08

Leave it unchecked as it is by default.


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:07.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.