HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   General (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=21)
-   -   HowTo join an existing MyDNSConfig multiserver setup (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39731)

torusturtle 29th September 2009 10:18

how to join an existing MyDNSConfig multiserver setup?
 
Hi

I have installed MyDNSConfig on two different server.
I have intelled both like described in Installing MyDNS-NG & MyDNSConfig 3 On Debian Lenny.

On the second server I chose expert mode and the installation now asks for credentials for the master server.

But I always get the message:
Quote:

Unable to connect to mysql server
Do I have to configure the master server differently. e.g. do I have to allow special rights for the mysql server?

Thanks!

torusturtle 29th September 2009 17:21

Never mind!
It was a problem with the firewall.
Everything now working. :-)

jonedan 17th December 2009 07:09

Most DNS services will let you configure a domain to be a slave. This means that they pull the zone (dns records) from a master.You can run the master server on one of your boxes, and have your DNS provider pull it to keep it in sync. The master would actually send update notifications when you make a changeTechnically, this would require you to run a DNS server, but it would not have to be a production server. It could be setup so that all of the public DNS queries only hit your DNS provider. This way you have a very simple and reliable update mechanism.

Thanks.

vagassi 19th December 2009 07:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by jonedan (Post 213767)
Most DNS services will let you configure a domain to be a slave. This means that they pull the zone (dns records) from a master.You can run the master server on one of your boxes, and have your DNS provider pull it to keep it in sync. The master would actually send update notifications when you make a changeTechnically, this would require you to run a DNS server, but it would not have to be a production server. It could be setup so that all of the public DNS queries only hit your DNS provider. This way you have a very simple and reliable update mechanism.

Thanks.

Thank you for your valuable information, this will help me in accessing the DNS service


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:43.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.