HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Installation/Configuration (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=27)
-   -   Subdomain don't work!! (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39542)

carachi83 23rd September 2009 23:13

Subdomain don't work!!
 
Hi,
I'am try to setting a VPS with ISPConfig 3.0.1.
I created a domain (domain: domain.ext ; ip: * ; Auto-Subdomain: *. ; Mod-PHP).
I also create two alias domain for phpmyadmin.domain.ext (redirect to server1.domain.ext/phpmyadmin/) and webmail.domain.ext (redirect to server1.domain.ext/webmail/) and this work right!

I'am want create also a subdomain (sub.domain.ext).
At fist time I create it from subdomain but it don't work so on the forum I read the is better create subdomain as domain so i do it but it doesn't work!
When I want to see the sub.domain.ext the server respond with the domain.ext

Why? What can I do?

Thank you

till 24th September 2009 10:40

Make sure that the subdomain exists in dns too, otherwise it can not work as your webbrowser does not know that the subdomain exists.

Quote:

When I want to see the sub.domain.ext the server respond with the domain.ext
Thats fine as the subdomain is an alias for the main website. If you want to get a different website, just create a new website for the subdomain instead of adding it to the domain.ext website as subdomain.

carachi83 24th September 2009 11:35

Quote:

Originally Posted by till (Post 205473)
Make sure that the subdomain exists in dns too, otherwise it can not work as your webbrowser does not know that the subdomain exists.

Thank you for oyur reply Till.

I created a CNAME with:
hostname: sub
target hostname: domain.ext

It's right? if is right, thow much time can I wait for active it?

Thank you


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:26.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.