HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials

HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/index.php)
-   Kernel Questions (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=6)
-   -   kernel panic (http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=39486)

Nacho Cheese 22nd September 2009 15:13

kernel panic
 
I have compiled a new kernel under centos 5.3, this was successfully done, but when loading, it fails.

Grub config looks like:
# grub.conf generated by anaconda
#
# Note that you do not have to rerun grub after making changes to this file
# NOTICE: You have a /boot partition. This means that
# all kernel and initrd paths are relative to /boot/, eg.
# root (hd0,0)
# kernel /vmlinuz-version ro root=/dev/sda5
# initrd /initrd-version.img
#boot=/dev/sda1
default=0
timeout=50
splashimage=(hd0,0)/grub/splash.xpm.gz
hiddenmenu
title CentOS (2.6.31-rt11)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.31-rt11 ro root=LABEL=/1
initrd /initrd-2.6.31-rt11.img
title CentOS (2.6.18-164.el5)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-164.el5 ro root=LABEL=/1
initrd /initrd-2.6.18-164.el5.img
title CentOS (2.6.18-128.el5)
root (hd0,0)
kernel /vmlinuz-2.6.18-128.el5 ro root=LABEL=/1
initrd /initrd-2.6.18-128.el5.img


Kernel 0 doesnt load, kernel 1 loads..

The error I get:
kernel panic init not tainted mount failed

Maybe my ram-disk is incorrect?

Thanx in advance!!!

matey 28th September 2009 13:33

can you control D out of it and go to single user mode?

if you can then run fsck to fix errors but if you can't then the address of the kernel file is incorrect.
you can press e to edit the grub menu, change hd0,0 to hd 1,0 or hd 0,1 etc, and try different locations for the img file like /boot/initrd.img-x-y-z etc...


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:49.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.